New Granola Recipe (with coconut oil and no sugar)

granola

While I love this granola recipe that I shared a while back, I decided I should try making some granola without sugar.  And you know what?  I don’t really miss the sugar.

My “recipe” for this granola is very flexible, but it has turned out deliciously every time.

Homemade Granola (no sugar)

Ingredients:

about 4-5 cups quick or regular oats (I like to use about 1/2 of each. You can also substitute other rolled grains.)
about 2 cups total of any of the following: unsweetened flaked coconut, ground flax seeds, sesame seeds, raw sunflower seeds, chopped nuts, and/or wheat germ
about 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
about 1/3 cup honey
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
dried fruit (blueberries, cranberries, raisins) – to be added after baking.

Directions:

1. Combine all dry ingredients and mix in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine melted coconut oil and honey.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients.  Stir to combine.

2. Spread onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 300ºF for about 30-40 minutes total, stirring every 10 minutes.  The granola will still be soft when it is warm, but will crisp as it cools.  It should be slightly brown.

3. After the granola cools, store it in an air-tight container. (I like to use a glass jar.)

Add dried fruit to your bowl when eating the granola, if desired.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Granola Recipe (with coconut oil and no sugar)

  1. Pingback: goals + recipes for the week of 5/25 | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

