Current Favorite Healthy Snack: Smoothies

smoothie foodsYum! Breakfast foods!

I didn’t used to be a smoothie person.  When I started making my own delicious smoothies I suddenly became a smoothie person.  It was like one switch turned off my smoothie aversion and another switch turned on my smoothie obsession.  In one instant I went from never thinking about smoothies to trying to put anything in a smoothie.  At least they’re good for me. 😉 🙂

My basic smoothie contains:

Greek or plain yogurt -usually, because it’s cheapest. If I have fruit yogurt I use it.
Pineapple
Strawberries
Banana (These 3 fruits I have on hand most often)
Ice

When I have them, I add/substitute:

kiwi
Mango
spinach

smoothie 3

I use a Magic Bullet blender which I got at Costco.  I know it can not compare to the Vitamix, but for its price it is fantastic!  I love it for smoothies and chopping especially.

smoothie 1 smoothie 2

What are your favorite foods to put in smoothies?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beverages, Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Current Favorite Healthy Snack: Smoothies

  1. Jaclynn says:

    Mmmm yum! I’ve been making protein shakes lately for my husband and I with chocolate protein powder, almond or reg. milk, spinach, avocado, banana and whatever other fruit we have/want. The greek yogurt is a good idea!

  2. mcsgal says:

    I like to add frozen bananas because it makes the smoothies thick and creamy. I don’t add the ice if I use frozen fruit. I like fresh or frozen strawberries or raspberries. Orange juice concentrate tastes good if you don’t have oranges.

Leave a Reply

