My Garden: First Year

I grew up in a big-time gardening family.  My parents gardened for necessity: the cheapest way to bring your large family high quality produce is to grow it yourself.  They still keep a big garden and are my go-to people for each and every gardening question I have. (Their garden is about 1/4 acre – bigger than my entire property.  My sister shared some pictures of it back in 2008 – it usually looks about the same.  As you can tell, they are hard workers.) My parents are always very generous with their garden produce, and I currently have a large bag of asparagus in my fridge from them.  We have eaten lots of tomatoes, peppers, berries, sweet potatoes, melons, kale, and more from their garden since we have been married.

One of my biggest excitements about buying our home at the end of last summer was the possibility of having our own garden.  When you were raised on produce from the garden, store-bought foods (example: tomatoes) just don’t satisfy.

garden 2

I was blessed to have one of my brothers help me start my garden out back a few weeks ago.  He moved recently as well and just started a new garden of his own.  He gave me some tips and tricks and did the heavy lifting, too!

I bought four 8-foot long “landscaping timbers” at Menards for $4 each.  My brother screwed them together with some really long deck screws.  So my garden is 8’x8.’ It already seems too small, so I’m planning to expand next year.  For this year, it’s a nice starter. 🙂 I filled the garden with a variety of soils from Menards – regular top soil, peat moss, mushroom compost, and a manure and compost mixture.  It is so easy to work with and will hopefully yield great results.

I planted some red beats, snap peas, green onions (they aren’t up yet, so keep your fingers crossed!), tomato, eggplant, and a variety of peppers.  I also planted some herbs in my front flower garden.  They have not come up yet either, but I’m hoping for the best. 🙂

garden 4 garden 3

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Garden: First Year

  1. Looks great! I would love to have a garden some day. Currently, I don’t think our “yard” is as big as your garden, and it floods and is muddy most of the year. I was thinking about some potted plants, but haven’t done anything. I hope you get some great results!

  2. mcsgal says:

    Your garden is growing! I still get excited when I see my plants actually growing.

  3. Shari says:

    We are just now starting to cut produce from our garden here in Arizona. It is so much fun. I am going to make zucchini bread tomorrow and bruschetta this weekend with the tomatoes. Your garden looks great! It’s so exciting to watch the plants get a little bigger each day. Best wishes to you in your gardening.

Leave a Reply

