Homemade Yogurt!!

yogurt!

Homemade yogurt has been a little bit of a mystery to me for a while now.  I know that my mom makes it and I have heard other people mention it, but honestly?  The thought of letting my milk turn into yogurt kind of scared me!  I was kind of afraid that I’d ruin it.

Another thing that scared me about trying to make yogurt is that so much yogurt is bitter – even the plain yogurt you buy in the store.  The only yogurt I had ever tried that was not bitter was homemade yogurt a friend made with milk from their own cow.

Thankfully, I found this incredibly helpful blog post that told some common pit-falls of homemade yogurt!

Bitterness – milk not fresh enough
Runny – Not cooked long enough or let sit long enough

So even though the freshest milk I could get was at the grocery store, I decided to give this a try last night/this morning.  I am SO glad I did and I know I’m going to be primarily making my own yogurt in the future.

Seriously, check out how it’s done!

It’s easy, it’s cheap, and it’s delicious.

You guys already know that I love to put PB2 in my plain yogurt, but some of my other favorite plain yogurt additions are granola, Honey Bunches of Oats, pomegranate, maple syrup, and honey. (What are some of yours?)

yogurt! 2The blog where I got the recipe estimates the cost of a one-half cup serving of this yogurt to be $0.16.  I get my milk at Aldi for $1.99/gallon, so my cost for this recipe is even cheaper yet!  I am a big fan of easy, better-tasting ways to save money! (Especially ways that help me eat healthfully, too!)

PS: I just have to brag that last week I got my pomegranates at Aldi for $0.59/each.  Is this the right time of the year to get pomegranates?  Because they are *so* sweet, and they are literally huge!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Yogurt!!

  1. Amy says:

    Yes, this is pomegranate season in California (actually, nearing the end of it). The arils are equally good on green salads, oatmeal and granola.

Leave a Reply

