I like… Goodwill!

I like...

I am going to be sharing a post like this every day this week – sharing something I like/use and why.

The first think I want to share that I like love is Goodwill!  I love being able to snag slightly-used deals now and then, even though you won’t see me in Goodwill on a daily or weekly basis. 😉

This week, however, I snagged two deals for $5 each:

A Kitchen Aid salad spinner:

salad spinner 2 salad spinner

and a Vera Bradley Lunch bag for work:

Vera Bradley

A quick wash and dry and it’s as good as new, minus the price tag!

What have been some of your favorite Goodwill finds?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I like… Goodwill!

  1. Funny you should mention Goodwill! I got a “beautiful” tangerine 1950s housewife citrus juicer at goodwill a few years ago. It will actually be making an appearance in an upcoming blog post and I was going to note how jealous everyone probably is that I have one and they don’t. 🙂

    • AWESOME! 🙂
      I love comments like this.
      By the way, I showed my sister my salad spinner and she was like, “I had no idea these existed!!!!” and said her boyfriend has been saying that there is no good way to drain lettuce. Yeah, talk about the jealousy. 😉 🙂

      • Never heard of a salad spinner? A sad, sheltered life! Especially with CSA pickups, it seems I’m always blessed with the most dirt filled bunches. I don’t know what I would do with mine.

      • I did grow up with a HUGE garden, but my mom doesn’t have a salad spinner. (I’m not sure if it is something she would use/want to store?) She washes a LOT of lettuce but I know she just reduces the amount of water she puts in her homemade dressing to make up for the extra water on her lettuce. 🙂 Creative!

  2. Leilani says:

    Great idea and great finds! I actually spotted a salad spinner at Goodwill not too long ago but I thought it was too bulk to try to store. Oh well. Meanwhile, I LOVE to hunt for furniture here. 🙂

  3. Jaclynn says:

    Salad spinners are awesome! When we were doing Farmer’s market we always washed our lettuce ahead of time and sold it by the bag and it was a huge timesaver and helped the washed lettuce last longer.

  4. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    I love Goodwill! I haven’t been there in years but I still have my favourite $2 teapot and a bunch of baskets to use during the holidays which cost me 25cents each. That place is great! Oh and as far as salad spinners I love my vintage pink one for about $3. All Goodwill 🙂

  5. Gen says:

    I also love goodwill. since we’ve moved we’re closer to them now, that’s a good and a bad thing lol. I have furnished most of my house from goodwill, got a lot of carpets etc, got most my cleaning accessories from goodwill like my Swiffer floor mop, Swiffer duster and ironing board. Lately I’ve been redoing lamps from goodwill I have one posted on my blog and I have two sitting in the garage waiting on a 2nd coat of spray paint yup I’m addicted to Goodwill you could say lol

  6. ohshecooks says:

    I love all thrift stores! My favorite from Goodwill, that I can remember (our history goes back nearly 20 years), is a set of late 1950s/early 1960s teacups and saucers for 24…$12.

  7. JoBoVo says:

    Goodwill is my favorite place to go when I am desperately wanting to shop but don’t have much money to spend. I always find what would normally be expensive clothes for a couple of dollars.
    I also buy children’s books. $0.25 a book! I can happily search through the big book crates for hours.
    I’m still waiting to find awesome kitchen accessories at our local store…one day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

