Venetian Apricot Chicken [Olive Garden Recipe!]

Venetian Apricot Chicken 3Can you imagine my delight when I realized that Olive Garden offers some of their recipes online?  Although they didn’t share all of them, they did share a favorite that we tasted there once.  If you know me, you know that I was so happy to try it at home for huge savings!

Venetian Apricot Chicken!!

Doesn’t it sound and look delightful?

It is.

So I’ll share exactly how I made it – only slightly differently from the original recipe.

Venetian Apricot Chicken
from Olive Garden; serves 4

Apricot Sauce
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup apricot preserves
salt and pepper to taste

Tomato Mixture
1/2 pound roma tomatoes, sliced and then each slice cut into fourths
6 basil leaves, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 teaspoon garlic pepper (I didn’t have this; I used about 1/2 granulated garlic, 1/2 black pepper)
salt to taste

Garlic Herb Seasoning
3 teaspoons garlic pepper
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning*

1 bunch asparagus, with the bottom inch of the stems removed
1/2 pound broccoli florets
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sprinkled with salt, pepper, granulated garlic, and olive oil
Chopped parsley to garnish, optional (I didn’t have it this time)

Directions:

1. Combine Garlic Herb Seasoning ingredients in a small bowl or measuring cup and set aside.

2. Blend chicken stock and apricot preserves in a sauce pan.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a boil and remove from heat.

3. Combine tomatoes, basil, garlic pepper, and salt in a separate mixing bowl and set aside.

Venetian Apricot Chicken 4Venetian Apricot Chicken 5

4. Blanch asparagus and broccoli for 1-2 minutes in a pot of salted boiling water.  Transfer immediately to ice bath to stop cooking.

5. Coat sauté pan with 1 tablespoon olive oil.  While keeping ingredients separate in pan, heat cooled asparagus, broccoli, and tomato mixture until hot.  Do not overcook.

6. Grill chicken until internal temperature reaches 165ºF.  (I used my indoor panini grill, since that’s the only grill I have.  Click here to learn more of my tips about grilling chicken on an indoor grill.)

7. Place grilled chicken on a plate next to hot broccoli and asparagus.  Sprinkle Garlic Herb Seasoning on broccoli.  Pour tomato mixture on top of vegetables.  Top chicken breasts with apricot sauce and garnish with chopped parsley (optional).

We love the apricot sauce so much that we put it on our vegetables, too.

Venetian Apricot Chicken Venetian Apricot Chicken 2

* I thought the Garlic Herb Seasoning made a little more than necessary; I didn’t use all of it.

Any suggestions on a favorite Olive Garden recipe I should try next?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Venetian Apricot Chicken [Olive Garden Recipe!]

  1. bethevenson says:

    I have ordered this before at Olive Garden. Thanks for this recipe!!

Leave a Reply

