Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheescake

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 1I have shied away from making another baked cheesecake ever since my cheesecake disaster. (If you haven’t read that one yet… it’s a good – albeit sad – story.)

However, when I found a selection of delicious-looking cheesecakes in a Taste of Home magazine at work, I decided it was once again time to try my hand at cheesecake baking.  I opted for this Swirled Raspberry & Chocolate Cheesecake, vowing only to alter the recipe in the slightest manner (frozen vs. fresh raspberries) as to not have a repeat of the epic cheesecake disaster.

I am happy to report that this recipe did go almost entirely as planned! 🙂  It got a little darker on top than the original picture, but really?  The taste is so good that no one would notice that mine is browner than the original picture.  And when I say that is is so good, I mean that it is so so so so so soooooo good.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake
from Taste of Home, April/May 2012

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/2 cup confectioners sugar
1/3 cup butter, melted

1 cup fresh or frozen (thawed) raspberries
1/2 teaspoon sugar
3 packages (8 ounces each) cream cheese, softened
1 can (14-ounces) sweetened condensed milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 eggs, separated
1 cup (about 6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips
Additional raspberries for garnish (I did not have any this time)

Directions:

1. Place a greased 9-inch springorm pan on double thickness of aluminum foil.  Wrap foil around pan.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 3

2. In bowl, combine cracker crumbs, confectioners’ sugar, and butter; press into bottom of pan using a spatula.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 4I used whole graham crackers, so I crushed them first.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 6Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 7

3. Place raspberries and sugar in blender; cover and process until smooth.  Strain.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 8Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 9I used cheese cloth to strain my raspberry/sugar mixture.  If you have a better idea, let me know!

4. In bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth.  Beat in milk and vanilla.  Add egg yolks; beat on low just until combined.  Remove 1 tablespoon and stir it into raspberry puree.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 10Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 12Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 135. Melt chocolate.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 14

6. Pour half of the cream cheese mixture into another bowl.  Stir the melted chocolate into the cream cheese mixture in one of the bowls.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 15Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 16Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 17

7. In a bowl with clean beaters, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.  With a spatula, fold half into chocolate mixture until blended.  Pour over crust.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 18Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 19Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 208. Fold remaining egg whites into plain cream cheese mixture; spread over chocolate layer.  Drop raspberry mixture by spoonfuls over top; swirl with a knife.*

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 21Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 22

9. Place springform pan in a large baking pan/dish.  Add 1 inch of boiling water to pan.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheesecake 23

10. Bake at 325°F for 55-65 minutes or until center is just set (it will sill look a little jiggly).  Remove springform pan from water bath; remove foil.  Cool on wire rack for 10 minutes; loosen from pan with knife.  Cool 1 hour longer.  Refrigerate overnight.  Remove rim.  Serve with fresh raspberries.

Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheescake 2

* This is the point where I admit that my only springform pan is actually an 8-inch pan, not 9-inch!  I couldn’t quite fit all of the batter into the pan, so I just filled it slightly below the rim of the pan.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Cheesecake, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swirled Raspberry and Chocolate Cheescake

  1. Jayne says:

    Congrats on the success of this recipe~! I’ve had that kind of experience before. To fail once and be really traumatised. But I’m so happy that you got over it with this nice recipe. And a delicious one too.

Leave a Reply

