Sweet Potato Hash Browns

Sweet Potato Hash Browns 2Sweet Potato Hash Browns, made with both white and yellow sweet potatoes

I decided to make sweet potato hash browns when I wanted a slightly heartier breakfast than just eggs.  I don’t usually keep regular white potatoes on hand, but nearly always have sweet potatoes from my mom. (If I run out, I beg for more. ;))  They turned out well; I’m sure I’ll make them again.

Sweet Potato Hash Browns
Slightly adapted from this recipe

2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
4 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 teaspoon dried parsley
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

Sweet Potato Hash Browns

1. Bring a medium pot of salted water to a boil.  Add sweet potatoes, and cook until they can be easily pierced with a fork buy still offer some resistance (3-5 minutes, depending on size).  Drain.

2. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add onions and sauté, stirring occasionally until onions are tender and golden brown.  Transfer onions to a small bowl; set aside.

3. Pour remaining 3 tablespoons of olive oil into skillet, and place over medium-high heat.  Add potatoes and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden brown, about 8 minutes.  Add reserved onions and cook about 2 more minutes.  Toss in parsley, and adjust the seasoning to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve immediately.

Sweet Potato Hash Browns 3 Sweet Potato Hash Browns 4We love the flavor of sweet potatoes.  I served these hash browns with easy fried eggs, and my husband also had toast but I chose not to.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet Potato Hash Browns

  1. Katie says:

    I can’t wait to try this! We love sweet potatoes in our house too!

  2. bethevenson says:

    Keep on the sweet potato heritage! 🙂

  3. Shari Kelley says:

    Your recipes look so good! I love sweet potatoes, too. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

