Slow-Cooker Lentil and Black Bean Soup

Slow Cooker Lentil and Black bean soupI’m always on the lookout for great slow cooker soups, and this one is so quick, easy, and healthful!  This recipe caught my eye because it seems like a soup that could easily be altered depending on what you have on hand.

I added cabbage this time, buy you could easily add spinach or celery instead, depending on what needs to be used from your fridge!

I found the original recipe here, and only altered it slightly.

Slow-Cooker Lentil and Black Bean Soup

8 ounces dry lentils
1 can black beans
1 onion, diced
2 carrots, diced
1 15-ounce can chopped tomatoes
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon cumin
1/2 tablespoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
5 cups hot water
several cups chopped cabbage, or other vegetable of choice (optional)

1/2 tablespoon salt (to taste)
1/2 teaspoon black pepper (to taste)

Directions:

1. Rinse lentils.

2. Add all ingredients (except salt and pepper) to the slow cooker.

3. Put the lid on the slow cooker, and cook on high for 6 hours.  Remove the lid, then add the salt and pepper to taste.

I served this with homemade rye bread, and it was a great combination.

rye bread

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slow-Cooker Lentil and Black Bean Soup

  1. Megan says:

    This sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sounds great! We love lentil soup!

  3. csamom says:

    I have lentils and black beans. This sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to try it!

  4. gardenjon says:

    Thanks for the great idea!

  5. Linda Dogan says:

    I just love this site, just cant figure out how to print without printing all the receipes.

Leave a Reply

