Spinach Quiche

spinach quicheI don’t know how to introduce this recipe.  I really think the picture speaks for itself.  I frequently requested this recipe growing up… it’s so delicious!!!

I know, I say that all the time.

But it’s really true.

Spinach Quiche

1 9-inch pie crust, pre-baked*
1 cup chopped onion
1 pound ground beef
1 10-ounce package frozen spinach, thawed and drained**
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 large eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated, optional

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375°F.

2. Brown onions and hamburger.  Drain excess grease.  Add salt, pepper, nutmeg, and spinach, stirring well.  Mix eggs with milk and stir with meat mixture.  Pour into pre-baked pie shell and sprinkle with cheese (if using).

3. Bake 30 minutes.  Let stand for 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

* I use the Foolproof Pie Crust recipe, and I always have some of it in the freezer so it’s really handy!
** You can also use fresh spinach (a very large bunch), cooked in a little water.  That’s what I used for these pictures.

spinach quiche 2If you already have your pie crust prepared, this recipe is really quick to throw together!  You can also make it skipping the crust entirely if you’re in a rush or trying to cut down on calories.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spinach Quiche

  1. This looks really yummy! I love pies like this.

  2. I have a recipe like this that I have been meaning to post. My son gets excited when I make it because we call it cheeseburger pie. 😉

Leave a Reply

