Homemade Angel Food Cake

angel food cake _ sunlight

Tonight I did something I hadn’t tried before…

making a homemade angel food cake!

My husband and I both love angel food cake so he had no objections when I told him I was going to get my mom’s recipe.  I remember the first time he had this cake.  He asked my mom, “What is that???” while reaching for a second piece. 🙂

Since it seems like most people shy away from the idea of making a homemade angel food cake from scratch, I took a lot of pictures while I was making it so I could give very detailed instructions.

Homemade Angel Food Cake

1 cup flour (sifted before measuring)
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups egg whites (from about 10-12 large eggs)*
1 1/2 tsp cream of tarter
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup sugar

Directions:

1. Sift flour with 3/4 cup sugar two times. Set aside. (You have already sifted the flour once, so altogether you will sift it three times.)

angel food cake 1

2. With an electric hand mixer, beat egg whites with cream of tarter, salt, and vanilla until stiff enough to form soft peaks, but still moist and glossy.

angel food cake 4angel food cake 5The total beating time will be about 12 minutes, so I go ahead and set my timer when I start mixing…

angel food cake 6and mixing…

angel food cake 7and mixing…

angel food cake 8until it looks about like this.

3. While still mixing, add remaining 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons at a time, continuing to beat until egg whites hold stiff peaks.

(Hand mixer 12 minutes total beating time)

angel food cake 9angel food cake 10Final mixing.

4. Pour about 1/4 of the sifted flour mixture over the egg whites, and fold in with a spatula.  Repeat, folding in remaining flour by fourths.

angel food cake 11Note: folding in is different from stirring!  Do not “stir” in circles.  “Fold” around the edges, and in a circular motion from the back of the bowl, across the bottom, up the front, and to the back again.

angel food cake 12angel food cake 13All folded in – still very fluffy.

5. Bake in ungreased 10-inch tube pan at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes, or until done.

angel food cake 3angel food cake 14angel food cake 15angel food cake 16

6. Invert the cake to cool. (Just tip it upside down and leave it on the table until completely cooled.)

7. Run a knife around the edge of the pan to loosen, then pull the pan apart and run a knife along the bottom of the cake.

angel food cake 17angel food cake 18angel food cake 198. Remove onto a plate, and serve or cover with plastic wrap.

angel food cake 20angel food cake 21

* Save your egg yolks for use added into quiches, scrambled eggs, noodles, or any other recipe where you use eggs so they don’t go to waste!

angel food cake _ sunlight 2

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Homemade Angel Food Cake

  1. Looks good! I don’t even have a sifter, hmm. You did a great job, Bonnie.

  2. Gorgeous! I still have yet to make it. It’s a lot of egg whites!

  3. Great instructions. I can’t wait to try this 😄

  4. It looks great! And you didn’t even have to run a knife through the batter after putting it into the pan to get rid of air bubbles. I always do that. My MIL and SIL made one a couple of months ago with getting rid of the air bubbles, and it had a couple of HUGE holes baked into it! My SIL loved it and all of it’s quirkiness and lopsidedness anyway though, as her birthday cake. We called it an “Alice in Wonderland” cake. When I told them about that trick, they said the box mix they used didn’t tell them to do it. Beautiful cake Bonnie!

    • I have never heard of running a knife through it to eliminate air bubbles – how interesting! Mine didn’t have any big air bubbles, and my mom’s never did either.

      Thanks so much for the compliment! 🙂

  5. Leilani says:

    Great job! Please tell me you slathered it with whipped cream and berries. 🙂

  6. hlalle says:

    This was my first attempt at making an angle food cake. It turned out perfect “thanks to your step by step directions” and taste wonderful. Thank you so much for posting your mother’s recipe.

  7. This looks SO moist! Definitely going to be trying it – will post here again and let you know how it turned out =)

Leave a Reply

