Coloring Easter Eggs

easter eggs smallerI had a little too much fun coloring my Easter eggs!  I thought I’d share how I did mine in case any of you were interested.  Honestly, I don’t know why we only color eggs once a year.  I definitely plan to do this again this spring and summer. 🙂 It’s just fun!!  But there is a limit to how many eggs one family can eat at a time. 😉

What you will need:

– Hard boiled eggs
– Mugs (one for each color)
– One spoon for each mug
– Food coloring
– Vegetable or canola oil
– White vinegar
– Water

Directions:

Into each mug, pour 1 tablespoon of white vinegar and 1 tablespoon of oil, as well as several drops of food coloring.  Fill each mug to about 1/2 or 3/4 with water.  Stir each mug.

To color eggs –
Take one egg at a time in your hand.  With your other hand, stir the colored water in a whirlpool fashion.  As soon as you stop stirring, dip the egg in for 5 seconds, then pull it out and set it on a paper towel.  Let your eggs as you continue to dip more eggs and add them to the paper towel.

When you are satisfied with how your eggs look (they change slightly as they sit), gently wipe them off with a paper towel.

Easter eggs 2You may notice that one of my green eggs has lines around it.  I experimented with wrapping rubber bands around an egg before dipping it, but I only had two skinny rubber bands, so it wasn’t effective.  If you have wider rubber bands, you can wrap them around the eggs before dipping for stripes!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coloring Easter Eggs

  1. Melissa says:

    I use either kool aid packets to color my eggs. On the off a little one should decide to lick a shell act there’s nothing toxic in/ on the shell. I’ve heard of jello mixes as well but haven’t tried it.

Leave a Reply

