Layered Cabbage “Rolls” with Quinoa

Layered cabbage rolls with quinoabefore baking

I have been enjoying branching out in my cooking with quinoa.  I really only have one rule for the recipes I try: they can’t be disgusting.

Finding good-looking recipes with quinoa is easier said than done!  I decided to try a favorite layered cabbage “rolls” recipe with quinoa instead of rice, and it was delicious!

Layered Cabbage “Rolls” with Quinoa

(this is for a smaller batch than the original recipe with rice)

1 pound ground beef (I used ground chuck)
1/2-1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 1/8 teaspoon dry mustard
1 1/4 teaspoon celery salt
1/3 cup quinoa, uncooked
1 can diced tomatoes (14.5 ounces)
3/4 cup chicken broth
6 cups chopped cabbage (uncooked)

Directions:

1. Cook together meat, onions, garlic, and spices.  Drain excess grease.  Add the can of tomatoes and heat until warm.
2. In a greased 9 x 13-inch baking dish, layer cabbage, meat mixture, and quinoa (2 layers each).  Pour broth over entire dish.
3. Bake for 1 1/2 – 2 hours at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, or until rice is done.

layered cabbage rolls with quinoa 2The preparation time for this meal is SO small, but you do have to plan ahead because of the baking time.  This recipe a great way to eat quinoa and use cabbage!

I really enjoy eating “real” cabbage rolls, but the layered cabbage “rolls” taste just as delicious and cut your preparation time at least by half!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Layered Cabbage “Rolls” with Quinoa

  1. AnneJisca says:

    Mmm, it does look good! I haven’t used quinoa much, but I’ll have to try this someday when I find quinoa. 🙂

  2. Oh yum! I need a recipe for my first go at quinoa and this looks awesome. Plus I have tons of shredded cabbage in my freezer I really want to use. Score! Wonder how it’d work in the crockpot?

    • hmm… it’d probably still be good, but not the same. I don’t know if I’d like it as well from the crock pot because I like that crispier top, but I’m sure it’d still be good. 🙂

      • We enjoyed it! 🙂 I added pepper, too…and finely-diced mushrooms, chopped spinach and pureed carrot (all pre-done in my freezer)….since we’ve been trying to get even more veggies in our diet. A yummy way to use up cabbage!

  3. Amanda Embry says:

    “They can’t be disgusting”. I try to have that rule, too, but sometimes things surprise me. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Time-out | What do we eat today?

  5. Hi Bonnie!

    I am thrilled to inform you that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out here at http://divadicucina.com/awards/

    Congratulations and keep on bloggy blogging! 😉

    Diva di Cucina

Leave a Reply

