[Romanian] Eggplant Salad

eggplant salad 1

Whenever I talk about making eggplant salad, people ask how I make it!

Eggplant salad is something my [Romanian] husband introduced to me while we were dating, and I think it’s the only food he has really taught me how to make!  I had never heard of this before dating him.  I’d love to hear if any of you guys already knew how to make it and who taught you!

Honestly, this is the only thing I have ever made (so far!) with eggplant.  I know there are lots of ways to use eggplant, but I haven’t not yet explored them. (Ideas??)

Eggplant Salad

2 eggplants
2 cloves garlic, minced
about 1/4 cup minced onion
about 1/4 teaspoon salt
about 1/3 cup real mayonnaise (not miracle whip!)

Directions:

1. Lay the eggplants on an ungreased baking sheet or pan and bake for around 30-40 minutes at 375 degrees, until a butter knife slides easily through the center. (The peeling will be tough.)

eggplant salad 3 eggplant salad 4

2. Peel the eggplant. (You may have to let it set a few minutes so it’s not as hot, depending on your tolerance.) I just take a knife to help me tear/cut the skin and pull it lengthwise from top to bottom or bottom to top.  When the peeling is off, cut off the end where the stem was.

eggplant salad 5The insides vary quite a bit in color – some are lighter, some are darker, but they’ve always tasted fine for me.

3. Allow the eggplant to cool either on the counter or in the fridge.  It doesn’t have to be completely cooled to make the salad, but I prefer it to be close to room temperature.

4. Put the mayonnaise, garlic, onion, and salt in the blender.  Pulse for a few seconds. (My blender isn’t very good so don’t worry: it will be fine whether or not it purees your garlic/onion.)

5. Add the egg plants one at a time and blend.  Do not over-blend to avoid it becoming runny.  Feel free to adjust the amount of salt to taste.

We usually just eat this salad on bread – preferably a white bread, like French or Italian.  I bet it would also be good on a very mild cracker.  This salad has a very mild taste, so be sure to not overpower it with what you serve it on.

eggplant salad 2 eggplant salad 6

I honestly did not care for eggplant salad when I first tried it.  Now I can’t get enough of it.  I think the texture was new to me, and like I said: I’m not all that familiar with eggplant anyway.  Bogdan watches me in amazement while I eat this, saying “Didn’t you not used to like this?” 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to [Romanian] Eggplant Salad

  1. AnneJisca says:

    I’ll have to try this! I’m not overly fond of eggplant, but I like to add it to our diet once or twice a year. 😉 haha!

    My Dad makes eggplant steaks once in a while, like this: http://annejisca.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/eggplant-steak/ Again, I don’t mind it once or twice a year, but it’s not a regular occurrence to our diet at all. 😉

    Oh, another way to use it is my cutting it lengthwise, cooking it on a greased cookie sheet, then using it as lasagna noodles. Some of my friends love it, whereas I prefer to use zucchini “noodles” instead of the eggplant, but I think I hadn’t cooked it quite enough before adding it to my lasagna. 🙂

  2. Pinja says:

    Sounds very similar to what we call “Baba Ghanoush” or “munakoisotahna” (that would be Finnish and literally translate to munakoiso = eggplant, tahna = paste). Have you considered making “moussaka”? I am not a big fan of eggplants but I love moussaka.

  3. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Love this recipe! I grew up on eggplant salad. (as you know I was born in Romania but we’re Hungarian) my mother makes this the similar way but she roasts the eggplants on the BBQ or the stove top (yes it gets VERY smokey) and she leaves out the mayo uses olive oil instead. 🙂

    • Awesome!
      I figured you had heard of/had eggplant salad, because yes – I remembered you’re from eastern Europe as well (which is so cool!).
      That sounds like a yummy thing to try – the BBQ! I wish I had an outdoor grill, that would be awesome!

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        🙂 I don’t have an outdoor grill either which sucks 😦 growing up we had a grill and a wood stove which was AWESOME! I even caught my mother when she visits (once a year) making it on my stovetop, YES the burners!!! Imagine the smoke? lol but it resulted in incredible flavor. I would advise against this method though lol 🙂

      • Haha! 😀
        My parents have a gas stove-top and we have roasted marshmallows and hotdogs on the burners. 😉

  4. Yay! Thanks for sharing! I CANNOT wait to try this! Looks delish! 😀

  5. Chef Randall says:

    This is great Bonnie. As you have presented here in your images, it can be used like an appetizer or like an hors d’oeuvres at a cocktail party. I love egg plant. Good recipe Bonnie, thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.worfpress.com

  6. Jayne says:

    This is quite am interesting way to have eggplants. We like to use them in curry. Hubs personally love them in this soy syrup dish I copied from a restaurant. The dish is called Soy Limang Terung, recipe on my blog in case you’d like to try 🙂

  7. Amanda Embry says:

    Looks interesting. I’ve tried a few different recipes with eggplant but haven’t found any I really love.

  8. Christina says:

    My mom makes a eggplant spread similar to that, I think its an eastern European thing. it’s really good on bread with tomato! 🙂

  9. Jennifer Baxter says:

    Very good!

  10. alyse hart says:

    My nana made this thing I called snot salad. Well I was a kid and that is what it looked like. She was Romanian. When hubs and I became engaged we introduced our mothers and his mom brought out this light greenish dip. Turns out his grandmother made the same thing. Next weekend I am hosting an international pot luck and wish to serve something from my heritage and this is it. I think with mayo it will be better then my family’s version. Thanks for this recipe I will let you know how it goes.

  11. Hey Bonnie, I was so excited to find this recipe on google… not only because I have 2 eggplant and want to use them to make salata de vinette, but also because we have something in common… Romanian husbands. lol. I am from the States & am married to an amazing Romanian guy (3 1/2 years of marriage… whoop whoop!). I have a food blog, and my most recent post was Romanian cheese sticks. I like to learn new Romanian recipes… not to mention my husband loves it! I have one other R. recipe which is Marble cake… it’s so good! Do you have any other R. recipes on your site? Here’s the link for the cheese sticks: http://cooking4christ.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/romanian-cheesesticks/

    • I was so happy to read your comment! Thank you so much for stopping by! I will have you check out your Romanian recipes.
      I don’t actually have any other Romanian recipes on my website, but hope to pick up some more when we visit Romania at the end of the month. 🙂 I looooove eggplant salad, and I hope you enjoy it as well!
      I have been married to Bogdan for almost a year now – our anniversary is May 27.
      How did you meet your husband? Where are you from/where do you live now?
      I looked at your blog a bit; it is so neat! What an interesting “about” you have. 🙂 I am a Christian as well… what a neat ministry it looks like you have! I’d love to know more about it.

  12. My wife is Romanian and a U.S. soldier currently on deployment. I asked her if she wanted anything special when she got home and she said “Salada de vinete!” Eggplant salad is great, we like it with nearly twice the garlic though! Anyway, my wife is coming home in a couple of days, thanks for the recipe!!

    • What a sweet story. 🙂 I don’t know a lot of Romanian, but I do know how to ask for eggplant salad, which certainly came in handy when we were in Romania this past summer. 🙂

  13. spera nilkodin says:

    I’m Romanian.We love our eggplant salad and I appreciate all the nice words here. To tell you the truth everybody that tried this salad liked it.
    And for your Romanian partner try this: salata de boeuf
    http://www.gourmet-european-recipes.com/salade-de-boeuf.html
    All my American friends like this one too.

Leave a Reply

