Quinoa, Carrot, and Lentil Soup

Someone recently introduced me to an awesome cookbook –

quinoa 365(click to view on amazon!)

I don’t own this cookbook myself yet, but I’ll send you my address if you want to buy it for me! 😉 (Just kidding.)  And speaking of Amazon, I also recently bought my quinoa on there for cheaper than I have found in the regular grocery stores.

In the mean time, I just have some recipes copied down from the book, and I’m excited to share one with you!

Quinoa and lentil soup 2

Quinoa, Carrot, and Lentil Soup*

1/2 cup quinoa
1/2 cup lentils (recipe originally called for red lentils)
4 cups vegetable or chicken stock
2 cups water (original recipe said 1 cup – I use more to change from a stew to a soup)
1 1/2 cups sliced carrots
1 cup diced red onion
2 teaspoons minced fresh garlic
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon salt**
1 cup diced red bell pepper (I used orange), so about 1 pepper
2 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro (fresh is best: I used dried in these pictures)

Directions:

1. Combine the quinoa, lentils, stock, and water in a large saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook for 10 minutes.  Add the carrots, onion, garlic, cumin, coriander, and salt and cook for about 15 minutes.

2. Add the red pepper and cook for 5 more minutes.  Add the cilantro and adjust the seasoning if necessary.  Serve immediately.

*Altered just slightly from the original recipe… so you’ll have to buy the book. 🙂
** Depending on how salty your vegetable or chicken stock is, you may not need to add additional salt.

Quinoa and lentil soupFor this time, since my cilantro was dried, I added it while cooking the pepper so its flavor could be added to the rest of the soup.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quinoa, Carrot, and Lentil Soup

  1. Shari says:

    I just added the book to my wishlist!

Leave a Reply

