Banana Muffins

banana muffinsI’ve gotten behind on sharing my recipes lately!  I meant to post this banana muffin recipe weeks ago and never did.  I’m through procrastinating: here it is! 🙂

I grew up with this recipe.  I always loved the mornings when I woke up to the smell of these muffins and got to eat them fresh from the oven.  I still love them now and also often make them with blueberries instead of bananas.

Blueberry Muffins

Yield: 12 muffins

1 3/4 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt

1 beaten egg
3/4 cup milk
1/3 cup oil

1 cup bananas

Directions:

1. Stir together the first 4 ingredients.  Combine the next three ingredients in a different bowl, and then mix together just until moistened.  Add the bananas.

2. Fill 12 greased or paper-lined muffin cups to about 2/3 full.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until just lightly browned.

banana muffins 3The riper the bananas the better!  This was the first time I used a banana that was THAT black… it smelled a little fermented, but it was great in the muffins! 😉

banana muffins 4

banana muffins 2

banana muffins 5

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Banana Muffins

  1. Leilani says:

    Where can one find happiness? In a muffin.

  2. Jayne says:

    I just made a banana cake but then my flour ruined it. 😦 Somehow didn’t realise the flour had gone rancid. I have to do a take 2 with your recipe.

  3. Marya says:

    Trying these right now – they look amazing!! (but you’ve got the title “Blueberry Muffins” in your post…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

