Sweet Potato Fries + Honey-Spice Dip

Sweet Potato Fries

I have always enjoyed the baked sweet potato fries my mom makes, but when I tried some deep-fried sweet potato fries with a sweet dip at a restaurant, I knew I had to bring that greasy sweetness home.  Mmm mmm, it was a good idea.  I might have to make it again tomorrow. 😉 I have plenty of sweet potatoes since my mom gave us another 15 pounds of them!  Hooray for cheap and delicious meals!

First of all, you may notice that the peeling is still on these fries – that was Bogdan’s idea, in an effort to get nutrition from the peeling.  For the white sweet potatoes we could hardly tell there was peeling.  For the yellow sweet potatoes, it was much more noticeable – a little chewy.  We’ll probably peel them next time, but they were still fantastic.

Sweet Potato Fries 2As you can see, we fried these in our Presto frier, on high (400 degrees Fahrenheit) for several minutes, until they were tender (inside)/crispy (outside).  After taking them from the frier, we turned them onto paper towels and sprinkled salt on them.

Sweet Potato Fries 3Now comes the fun part!  The dip.

Honey-Spice Dip

2 ounces cream cheese, softened
about 3 ounces plain Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons honey
about 3-4 teaspoons brown sugar, to taste
dash of salt
several shakes of cinnamon and nutmeg
dash of ginger

Directions:

Cream all ingredients with electric mixer until homogenous.

Sweet Potato Fries with dipAmazing!!!

If you want to be more healthful but still eat this delicious dip, you should probably make the baked sweet potato fries. 🙂 If you do deep-fry your sweet potatoes, don’t forget to reuse your oil!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sweet Potato Fries + Honey-Spice Dip

  1. Jayne says:

    I love sweet potatoes! I think the dip is quite interesting. The honey would echo the sweetness of them potatoes, right? I quite like this idea.

    • I’m not quite sure why people love sweet things in addition to the already sweet potatoes (example: brown sugar, marshmallows: think Thanksgiving!), but there’s something amazing about it. 🙂
      PLUS, it’s always fun to dip. 🙂

  2. Chef Randall says:

    Thanks for sharing this with Us Bonnie. I like sweet potatoes and the dipping sauce sounds great. I have a recipe that uses brown sugar and you bake them in the oven.

    If you wish here is an idea for some of those 15 lbs. of sweet potatoes you have: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ref1txz5i6oqp8d/iB1GfCYl_u/Roasted%20Butternut%20Squash%20Pears%20and%20Cranberries.docx .

    The recipe is using butternut squash, but one time I used sweet potatoes and it was jast as good as using the squash. Just an idea Bonnie.

    Your post here today shows you always conquer in your kitchen. 🙂
    Again thanks for sharing your delicious ideas with Us.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • As always, thanks for your comment and the great recipe suggestion! I’m so glad we love sweet potatoes since I have an almost-never-ending supply. (My mom has plenty to share with me.)

  3. Do love deep-fried home-made chips, occasionally. As it’s cold here again I might just have to try these. The dip sounds oddly good with them, although I’m not overly keen on sweet dips. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

