Turtle Cookies (aka Chocolate-Chocolate-Pecan-Caramel Cookies!)

Turtle Cookies titleI am really glad that my husband asked begged me to make these cookies!  They are amazing, and I ate far more of them than I expected.  WOW, WOW, WOW… I can not get over them. 🙂

I searched all over for the perfect recipe for these cookies, and honestly they are recipes all over and in the end I morphed several recipes together.  So here’s how I made them!

Turtle Cookies
Yield: Around 4 dozen

2 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups butter
2 eggs
3/4 cup cocoa
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 – 1 1/2 cup(s) chocolate chips
1/2 – 3/4 cup chopped pecans
around 5 ounces of Rolo candy, or caramels, cut into fourths

Directions:

1. Cream butter and sugar.  Add all other ingredients, and mix well.

turtle cookies big_smaller

2. Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets, and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 8-10 minutes.  The cookies will be very soft when they are fully cooked!!  If they are hardened already when you take them from the oven they will be crunchy, not chewy!  I baked these for exactly 8 minutes and they were perfect.

3. Allow cookies to stay on hot cookie sheets for several minutes until they are firm enough to remove to wire racks to cool.

turtle cookies mmmm

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in cookies, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Turtle Cookies (aka Chocolate-Chocolate-Pecan-Caramel Cookies!)

  1. Chef Randall says:

    Great recipe Bonnie. I like the way you put pecans in place of the traditional walnuts used in most cookies. Great job. They look delicious.

    Thanks for sharing!!

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Coffee and Dessert for Everyone | Savor the Food

  3. Chef Randall says:

    Bonnie,

    I have nominated you and your blog for the Super Sweet Bloggers Award.
    In my acceptance of the award to my blog…I linked it to this page because of the dessert you posted. If you wish to accept here is the link: http://savorthefood.wordpress.com/2013/02/16/coffee-and-dessert-for-everyone/ .
    Congratulations!!

    Chef Randall
    Savorthefood.wordpress.com

  4. Pingback: goals & meal-plan for the week of 2/17 | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    These cookies look mouth-watering-ly delicious (if that is even a word). My goodness I could eat the tray at this time of the month…yikes 🙂 PMS monster is knocking on my door.

  6. Jayne says:

    LOL… When the hubs begs for a dessert, you know you have to make it, right? 😀 This cookie looks incredible! If I can get my hands on mint chips, I think this would be out of this world good.

  7. These look fabulous! Definitely gonna have to try and make these for my hubby. He has a weakness for chocolate cookies. 😉

Leave a Reply

