Saturday Upsides: Upsides to being home alone

It’s that time again!  It’s Saturday!  You can check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!  I love to hear what good things you have found in the less-than-appealing things life throws at us!

**

selfieShameless selfie

You guys all know that I like having my husband home, but even though he’s back in the country he’s obviously not home all the time.  Since there are so many things we like to do together, sometimes it’s disappointing when he has rehearsals and concerts. (Yet, it’s also very good because that means getting paid!  That’s very necessary.) It’d be nice if our work schedules always lined up, but this is real life. 🙂

I thought I’d share some things I like to do when I have a day or evening alone:

– Clean the house top to bottom (there’s always something to clean!)
– Make desserts (Today I’m making some delicious jello :))
– Skype or talk on the phone with a friend
– Watch girly TV shows
– Re-decorate
– Change my bedsheets*
– Blog
– Light candles
– Read a book
and of course…
– Eat 😉

* I know, I know… this one sounds silly!  But I hate changing/washing bedsheets (it’s my least favorite household job) but I like to do it regularly, so it’s a good thing to do when I’m home alone. 🙂

organizeI debated about whether or not to share this picture, but decided to in an effort to “keep it real.” Yeah… this was one organization project I tackled recently: I dumped everything out of my bathroom closet (not the towels… they stayed on the shelf) and went through everything, down to the last bobby pin.

What are some of your favorite things to do by yourself?

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Day by Day Masterpiece – Saturday Upsides: My Favorite Romantic Movies

2. You could be here!

3.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Upsides to being home alone

  1. Pingback: saturday upsides: my favorite romantic movies | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

  2. Such a great list of fun things to do solo, Bonnie! Here’s my Saturday Upsides post for this week: http://daybydaymasterpiece.com/2013/02/09/saturday-upsides-my-favorite-romantic-movies/

  3. tjthiessen says:

    And cleaning this Saturday was important for our Chinese girls…Happy Chinese New Year! http://preservings.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/saturday-upside-when-cleaning-day-and-chinese-culture-blend/

  4. Pingback: Be Mine? « Truly Skrumptious

  5. I love my sweetie, but also love time to myself too! Here’s my Saturday Upside: http://trulyskrumptious.wordpress.com/2013/02/16/be-mine/

Leave a Reply

