Three-Day Menu

bowling _smaller

Since my husband’s return it has been harder for me to plan meals.  I love cooking and was thrilled to have him back and be able to cook for him, but I often still find myself unprepared at mealtime. (Thankfully, we’ve been able to eat meals I have frozen several times!  None of this eating-out-for-lack of planning for us these days! ;))

Today I decided to do a menu for the next 3 days, and I’m going to try to stick with it.  Our work schedules do collide at times so we are not going to both be home for all these meals, but I think that’s fine.  If I am not home I will prepare ahead.

Friday

Breakfast:
Fried eggs, toast, and oranges
Lunch:
– Soft corn tortilla tacos with beef, corn, homemade fresh salsa, lettuce, and cheese.
– Carrot sticks
Leftover caramel rolls
Dinner:
Chicken a la King
– Lettuce salad
– Cooked vegetable

Saturday

Breakfast:
Fried eggs, toast, and oranges
Lunch:
Tuna salad or Tuna Patties
– Celery and peanut butter
Dinner:
Homemade Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
– Carrot sticks
– Possibly: jello salad (orange jello, shredded carrots, crushed pineapple)

Sunday

Breakfast:
Fried eggs, toast, and oranges
Lunch:
– Leftovers
Dinner:
– Lettuce salad
Chicken Chili

Snacks
– Carrot sticks
– Greek yogurt & honey
– Chocolate (for Bogdan :))
– Oranges
– Leftovers

Let me know if you’d like to see more posts like this.  I have received requests in the past, so I hope this is what you were hoping for! 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in menu and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Three-Day Menu

  1. Hannah Acheson says:

    It all looks quite appetizing! Especially from the perspective of someone whose recent intake has grown utterly boring. 😉 And yes, reviewing others’ menu plans always interest me; do post more.

    • Great! 🙂
      I know… watching calories is the worst when other people are posting meal plans that sound incredibly appetizing.
      I would say that the majority of these meals are pretty calorie-counting-friendly, except for the rolls. 🙂 As long as you control your portions… which, of course, is the hardest part.

      • Hannah Acheson says:

        Yes, I should have also commented on how all the meals do seem basically healthy; I thought the comment, at least. 😉

        To return the favor, here is my menu for this week (I write one every week):

        SU – PB&J on broad slices of fresh homemade white bread (Husband’s child-like Super Bowl dinner request, hehee); M – roast turkey, mashed potatoes, coleslaw, green salad; TU – spaghetti & meatballs in marinara, garlic bread, green salad; W – chili con carne, cornbread; TH – blackened salmon, couscous, sugar snap peas; F – roast pork loin, green beans, sweet potatoes; SA – pizza, dessert pizza

      • That all sounds super yummy!!! MMM MMM MMM 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  2. I would like to see more posts like this! I am not very good at planning and eating my own lunches (even though I prepare and pack Zachary’s), and I like seeing what you put with your dinners and how that plan works over several days. More please!

    • Awesome!! 🙂 Glad to hear. Maybe I can give an update on how this goes, and share more! Yea! 🙂
      I’m sure I won’t follow it to the letter, but it already has me planning ahead more and thinking, “Do I need to soak beans for this instead of using the (more expensive) cans?” or “I need to thaw meat out ahead.” 🙂

      • I tend to snack my way through the day more than anything. Although, I am the main leftovers eater if there is not enough for another full dinner. Zachary doesn’t like having to warm his food up at work since it takes up too much of lunch break.

        I know, if I don’t look ahead, frozen meat can mess me up! A follow up post on your meal plan sounds good.

      • I totally understand that it can be hard to eat “right” when you’re by yourself… snacking and eating “whenever” happened to me a lot when I was off work when Bogdan was gone, and when he’s working since he’s been back, too.
        Well, one follow-up-ish post is done. 🙂 The tacos were yummy! I made the chickan a la king tonight, too, which was great. But Bogdan will be eating “leftovers” of it later when he gets home. 🙂

  3. Deanna says:

    I love to see how others plan their weekly menus! Very nice!

Leave a Reply

