Cheesy Chicken and Spinach Penne

chicken and spinach penne 2 (2)

One of the things I had in mind to make when Bogdan came home was a chicken and spinach lasagna.  I didn’t have lasagna noodles on hand, though, and saw no need to buy them, because I made chicken and spinach penne.  It was fabulous!  I’ll definitely try it again.

Cheese Chicken and Spinach Penne

3 tablespoons butter
2 cloves garlic, crushed
5 tablespoons flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
8 ounces (uncooked weight) penne pasta, cooked according to package instructions
12 ounces cottage cheese*
1 large chicken breast, chopped
– olive oil and several shakes of black pepper, smoked paprika, basil, and oregano for seasoning chicken
~ 7 ounces of fresh spinach, leaves torn in half

Directions:

1. Melt butter over low heat.  Add garlic.  Fry until garlic is lightly browned.  Remove from heat.  Stir in flour and salt.  Very gradually wisk in the milk, then chicken broth, so that no lumps form.  Heat, stiring constantly, until thickened.  Remove from heat, and wisk in parmesan cheese, basil, oregano, and black pepper.  Set aside.

2. In a medium-large skillet, fry the chicken in olive oil with seasonings, as well as the chopped onion.  When chicken is done and onions are translucent, add the spinach and cover, with heat on low, until spinach is cooked.

chicken and spinach penne

3. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

4. Grease a 9 by 13-inch baking dish.  Spread about a third of the cheesy mixture in the bottom of the dish.  Top with one-third of the pasta, one-third of the chicken/spinach mixture, one-third of the cottage cheese, and then one-third of the mozzarella cheese.  Repeat twice.  Sprinkle additional parmesan cheese on top if desired.

5. Bake uncovered for about 35 minutes.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.  Serve with a cooked vegetable or salad, and garlic bread.

* I did not use cottage cheese in these pictures but it is delicious!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cheesy Chicken and Spinach Penne

  1. Tasty comfort food! Perfect. 🙂

  2. Jayne says:

    I indulged myself by buying a 500gm (about 1 lb) block of mozzarella last night. 😀 Looks like I’ll be using it on some pasta soon.

    • Sounds yummy!
      We love mozzarella here. My husband and I are big cheese fans, so I am always watching for sales. He eats a lot more of it than I do these days; I’ve been “good” with my eating. 😉 But when you have to splurge you have to splurge. 🙂

  3. I am so going to make this! Yumm

  4. Chef Randall says:

    This looks great Bonnie. I have some spinach and chicken. Going to the market now to buy some Penne, but I will be getting whole wheat. In place of cottage cheese, what do you think about ricotta cheese? Yummy!! Also adding some pine nuts?

    Thanks for sharing Bonnie and congrats on the return of husband!! 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

