Sunday Slow-Cooker Chicken

Sunday Crockpot ChickenI learned this recipe from my friend Katrina when I was visiting her in California, and I intended to share it but hesitated because my picture of it is somehow both dim and bright. (I must have quite the photography skills to get that to happen… heh.) I can’t wait any longer to share it, though!  It’s fantastic!  And I’ll be making it often enough that I’m sure I’ll get better pictures of it soon.

I’ve already used this recipe to entertain my own Sunday dinner guest since being home again.  It is super easy to whip up and it’s delicious!

Sunday Slow-Cooker Chicken*

Chicken thighs and/or drumsticks (4-8 pieces, no need to be exact)
1 can cream-of-mushroom soup
1/2 can water or milk
About 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
Several shakes of salt and pepper (to taste – can be adjusted after cooking)
About 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

… let’s face it.  These amounts do not need to be exact.  Just throwing it together is the theme of this recipe.

Directions:

1. Mix the soup, milk or water, rosemary, salt, pepper, and ginger in a slow cooker.

2. Add the chicken, and mix so that the chicken is coated with sauce.  Cover.

3. Cook on high for 4 hours.  I found this to be perfect to start Sunday morning for lunch after church!

After 4 hours, the chicken should be nearly falling off the bones and incredibly tasty.  Quickly prepare some potatoes to go with it and use the excess juice as gravy, cook a vegetable on the side, and you’re all set!  This is my new go-to Sunday afternoon recipe.

* I gave this recipe this name in place of what I was previously calling it – “That-awesome-chicken-that-Katrina-taught-me-how-to-make.” This name is much more shorter and reader-friendly.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Slow-Cooker Chicken

  1. Chef Randall says:

    Looks good Bonnie. When baking or cooking with ginger, it really adds flavor. I recently made a soup using ginger: http://savorthefood.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/coco-for-coconut/ .

    I am glad for you that your husband will be home soon. It isn’t good when spouses are apart for a long time. My wife goes to Mexico every summer to see her mom and stays for 5 to 7 weeks (one time for almost 10 weeks). I am glad she can go, but it is hard without your spouse around.

    Thanks for sharing Bonnie.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • I’ll have to check out that link.

      I know exactly what you mean – I really wanted Bogdan to go on this tour, but didn’t want him to be gone for so long. I’m so excited for his return! 🙂

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. Jayne says:

    The slow cooker is my best friend especially when it comes to making soups. I think it’s super versatile but a shame that many people don’t take advantage of that. I’m so going to try your recipe. With a whole free range chicken.

  3. Jillian says:

    Oooh, sounds wonderful! And it’s fast too which, if you’re busy like me, is a huge benefit!

    If you have minute, would you mind hopping over to my blog and contributing a recipe you have to a fundraiser cookbook a missionary friend of mine is putting together? If you could, I know she would SO appreciate it!

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    Looks delicious 🙂

  5. Simple yet delicious 🙂

  6. Katie says:

    Looks tasty! I use almost this same recipe to make pork chops in the Crock Pot. The only difference (besides swapping out the chicken for pork) is that I use a teaspoon of onion powder instead of the ground ginger. I’ve made it for YEARS.

Leave a Reply

