Saturday Upsides: Can there be an Upside to Losing Weight?

Welcome to another week of Saturday Upsides!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!  It’s great to take a break from “regular life” on the weekends and think of positive things to share.

**

Cali_mountains

I know… I skipped “Saturday Upsides” last week!  I was having a busy, fun Saturday in California and just… forgot.  BUT!  It was a day so full of upsides it would have been perfect. 😉

This week I am already excited that it’s finally less than two weeks until my husband returns.  I’ve been really missing him! (He’s been gone since December 10.)

Cali_ice skatingMe and my best friend Katrina

**

my fitness pal

I have been working on staying within a calorie goal and exercising since not long after my husband left.  This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, but is so difficult for someone who:

#1 Loves to eat!
#2 Is a foodie blogger.
#3 Has a super skinny husband who can eat anything.
#4 ((Did I mention LOVES to eat?))

However, aside from my little mini vacation to California and a couple days around the holidays, I have been staying within my calorie limit and exercising more than usual (still not the ideal amount, but it’s a big start).

greek yogurt and honey_smallerOne of my favorite snacks or part of a meal!

Sometimes it can be hard to see an upside to this.  Of course, now, I see the upside of the pounds I have lost!!  But during the process, it’s hard to see that.  So what are some upsides that have kept me going?

#1 My Fitness Pal!! (<– click for the link to my profile.) I don’t have a ton of friends on my fitness pal, but I have just enough to encourage me to keep going.  My Fitness Pal also makes it easy to track your caloric intake and exercise.

#2 Realizing that my husband will return to a more healthful, thinner, more toned wife! 🙂 Who wouldn’t get excited about that? 🙂

Cali_nubi yogurt smallerWhile in California I ate twice at Nubi Yogurt… this is example #1 of my non-healthful food choices. 🙂 However, you can actually eat healthfully at Nubi – they have plain frozen yogurt (no sugar) and fruit toppings.

Cali_view from NubiLooking out the window at Nubi – yeah, we don’t have landscape like this in Ohio.

Cali_homemade pizzaWhite Pizza Wedges and Homemade Pizza! (Both made with the Basic White Pizza Crust.)

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Meditations and Bread – Saturday Upsides: Some to Share!

2. Preservings – Saturday Upsides: After the Storm, Comfort Food

3. You could be here!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Can there be an Upside to Losing Weight?

  1. I traveled over the holidays (19 days on the road) and I gained back 7.2 lbs. however, thanks to My Fitness Pal I’ve lost all of it and then some since I returned 10 days ago. For me, some of it could have been the gluten that I ate – since the bloating that comes from eating gluten can add at least 3 lbs.

    • Wow!
      How great that you were able to lose it again so quickly. It is interesting how gluten affects you… I LOVE things with gluten in them, and it doesn’t seem to have a negative affect on me, thankfully! 🙂 I am a gluten-glutton! 😉

  2. Chef Randall says:

    Glad you had a good time in California. Here is something that you might be interested in http://www.weightwatchers.com/food/index.aspx . They have some good ideas for shedding some weight. I was over weight one time in my life and I used them and lost 23 pounds in 12 weeks. 🙂

    Again glad you had a nice vacation and thanks for sharing.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  3. tjthiessen says:

    Good for you! I’m fighting off stomach flu, but managed to put up a quick blog. http://preservings.wordpress.com/2013/01/19/saturday-upside-after-the-storm-comfort-food/

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    Glad you had a nice vacation. Love that yogurt ice cream. Exercise and yoga are helpful too in relieving stress and losing weight. The stress of losing weight 🙂

  5. synthetikat says:

    My boyfriend and I work out together. We use fitocracy and it tracks points and makes it kind of like a game which has been fun for both of us.

    We no longer eat fast food. It is not an option. On the go? Make sure to pack fruit and healthy granola. If you need a meal then go for a sub shop and avoid the deep fried.

    I love food as well and going through and trying to make healthier recipes can be a challenge but then again I like challenges and figuring out how to make something healthy. My most recent success is black bean brownies and BOY are those good and healthy too! So changing those habits has brought on new and interesting recipes, some of which are relatively easy.

    I already have more energy, feel better, look better, and definitely feel less depressed. Some of my old clothes fit me again. There are quite a few up-sides to all the work.

    I’m down now I promise. Good luck and keep at it ^_^

    • Great to hear!! We rarely eat fast food as well, mainly because it’s much cheaper to pack food than buy it at a restaurant. 🙂
      My husband is super skinny (6’3″ tall and about 160 pounds) but I still pack him healthful foods, of course! 🙂
      Yes, I feel better when I eat well, too! It’s kind of awesome. 🙂 I think now I need to just work on getting more fit, not necessarily losing more weight. I basically hit my goal! (Yea!!) I am 5’5″ and I finally hit 120. 🙂 I would love to be 118 and TONED, because I still have a bit of fat.
      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

