Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

sweet potato shepherd's pie title_smallerI love Shepherd’s Pie.

I love all aspects of it.  I love that it’s easy to make.  I love that it’s delicious.  I love that it’s a great use for any variety of vegetables: fresh, frozen, or leftover.

Now I have just one more reason to love it… I can make it with sweet potatoes!

I saw a recipe for Shepherd’s Pie with Butternut Squash and immediately thought about the sweet potatoes (in place of the squash) my parents gave me from their garden. (And I think they have a never-ending supply, so I can get more! ;)) I didn’t follow that recipe, but it was the spark that I needed to create this recipe.  It’s essentially the same as my other Shepherd’s Pie recipe, but with sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

3-4 cups mashed sweet potatoes
1 pound lean ground beef*
mixed vegetables – and selection of corn, beans, peas, carrots, or whatever you like!  I used about 3/4 cup of peas, 3/4 cup green beans, and 1 can or corn, drained. I plan to add carrots next time, because I know they’re great in shepherd’s pie
1 medium onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped, or granulated garlic
1 cup cheddar or colby-jack cheese, shredded
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Prepare sweet potatoes to make 3-4 cups mashed sweet potatoes, and set aside. (I did not add any seasoning to my sweet potatoes.)

2. In a skillet, fry the ground beef with the onion and garlic, until browned.  Add several shakes of salt and pepper.

3. If using frozen vegetables, salt them and cook or microwave until tender.

4. Put the vegetables in the bottom of a baking dish (mine is an odd 10 x 10-inch dish), and then put the ground beef/onion mixture on top.  Use a spatula to smooth the mashed sweet potatoes across the entire dish.  Top with the shredded cheese.

5. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for around 30 minutes, or until edges are slightly browned.

This dish is oh-so-yummy and I suggest you make it immediately. 🙂

*I used ground sirloin.  I also only had about 3/4 pound today, but I know a pound would be best.  Either way, though, it’s delicious!

shepherd's pie 1 shepherd's pie 2 shepherd's pie 3 shepherd's pie 4 shepherd's pie 5Yum.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Maleesa Paradis says:

    Looks great!

  2. Jayne says:

    Your shepherd’s pie is soooooo much healthier than my version. I need to make yours soon. At least then I won’t feel as bad when I go back for seconds.

    • Absolutely!! 😀

      I suppose another way to cut down the calories would be to cut out the cheese on top, but really! Cheese is the essential ingredient in so many things! 😛 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    This looks delish! I make shepherd’s pie all the time, but never like this.
    I can’t wait to try it!

  4. Chef Randall says:

    My Grandmother always made Shepherd’s Pie but with regular Idaho potatoes. This looks great with sweet potato. Looks like a fast dinner to make too. Going to try it. Thanks for sharing Bonnie.

  5. oooh I love this 🙂 I’ll have to try this next time… we eat so many sweet potatoes now! I’m glad to have sparked the idea!

    • I hope you like it! 🙂
      It’s funny… I had seen your post and then went back to find it just to look at more details about how you made yours, as well as to link to yours. I had forgotten that you used butternut squash for yours so i searched for quite a while before I found it. (Kind of hard when I was searching for Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie and that wasn’t even what you made! lol)

  6. caseylee18 says:

    Chef Randall brought me here and I’m glad he did. I had a deconstructed shepherd’s pie a while back and I used sweet potato as well. This shepherd’s pie looks so good, going to try it some day =)

  7. This is a terrific change-up of an old classic!

  8. Katie Malick says:

    Trying this for dinner, Bonnie! 😉

  9. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wow, this looks very delicious! Love the sweet potatoes!!

  10. csamom says:

    My husband just bought gobs of ground beef, and I have a butternut squash, so we will definitely try this – with the squash. I really enjoy sweet potatoes, but haven’t gotten any in my CSA. I’m glad they are so easily interchangeable. Although you wouldn’t really expect that, would you?

  11. whitsendmom says:

    The Hunni loves Shepherd’s Pie, and always wants me to make it. I never have thought of sweet potatoes. The kids love sweet potatoes, so it would probably be hit in our house.

  12. Pingback: Shepherd’s Pie with Butternut Squash and a surprise vegetable | csamom

  13. Reblogged this on muffins&mocha and commented:
    Looks Delish!! Very creative. Will have to Try!

  14. this looks so healthy, colorful, and creative. Thank you for posting. I reblogged on my page 🙂

  15. Pingback: Sunshine Award « muffins&mocha

Leave a Reply

