Lentil and Cabbage Soup

Lentil and Cabbage SoupThere’s something I should tell you about my home in the wintertime.  Suppertime is already dark out, so it’s dimly lit and heated primarily by my space heater.  It’s not the best environment to try to photograph my soups, but let me tell you: it’s the perfect environment for eating soups!

So I have!  I’ve been eating Sweet Potato Cheddar Soup (highly recommended!) for the last several days, so today I decided it was time for another kind of soup.  I had cabbage leftover from making Homemade Egg Rolls on New Year’s Day, so I went in search of a good cabbage soup recipe.

I was thrilled with what I found!  I hadn’t been on this blog before, but I’m definitely going to have to check it for more exciting recipes.  I didn’t have all the ingredients this recipe called for, so I changed it a little bit.  I also made a smaller batch than the original recipe.  Don’t forget to check out the original, but also try either! 🙂

Lentil and Cabbage Soup
adapted from this recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups water
1 medium onion, chopped
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
about 3-4 cups cabbage (raw measurement), sliced thin
3/4 cup dry lentils
1/2 can chickpeas, drained
5 cups chicken stock*
2 tablespoons ketchup**
1 teaspoon smoked paprika***
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

Optional: sour cream for garnish (I know my husband will use this!)

* The original recipe called for vegetable stock, which I didn’t have!  I “created” my “chicken stock” by using water and bouillon cubes.

** The original recipe called for tomato paste, but I didn’t have any.  The ketchup was great!

*** I actually used a few drops of liquid smoke and regular paprika, because I didn’t have smoked.

Directions:

1. In a large stock pot, cook onion, carrots, celery, and garlic in olive oil and about 1 cup water.  After several minutes, when vegetables are tender, add the cabbage.  Add another cup or so of water and cook until the cabbage is tender and has wilted down.

2. Add lentils, chickpeas, broth, ketchup, and paprika.

3. Bring to a simmer.  Cook until lentils are tender, 30-40 minutes.  Add the red wine vinegar just before serving.

This recipe is really easy and was the perfect use for my cabbage!  I’ll definitely make it frequently (cabbage is a really cheap vegetable!) and share it with my mom, who grows massive heads of cabbage in her garden. 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lentil and Cabbage Soup

  1. This looks delicious. A friend gave me smoked paprika a while back, and I’ve never seen a recipe call for it before, but I’ve enjoyed adding it into recipes here and there. I like the deep, rich, earthy flavour it gives. And I’m going to try this recipe, now that it’s soup season.

  2. Jill says:

    Sounds yummy! Ill def be making this, ive got a big head of cabbage in my fridge right now and lentils in my cupboards!! Thank you for sharing your recipies!

  3. Jill says:

    Just wanted to tell you I made this for lunch today! Along with your eggroll recipe. Omg! The eggrolls were to die for, the whole family loved them. The soup was really good too, everyone but the picky 4 yr old liked that. Thanks again for sharing your recipes. Between yours and Tammys website thats pretty much where I get most of my new recipes now. 🙂

    • I’m SO glad you tried it! Now I’m really glad I took the time to post the recipe last night.

      I knew you’d like the egg rolls, so glad you tried them! I could just eat plates full of them!! 😛 🙂

      Thanks so much for letting me know how it went! I am going to follow your blog, too.

  4. I love lentils. I love cabbage. I’ll have to make this!! Sounds so good! And hey- any secrets on how to get more followers?? :Love your blog… so refreshing and honest!

    • Hmm… secrets? I’m not sure. 🙂 I posted a TON at first! haha. 🙂 And I checked out a ton of other blogs and left comments, and of course fell in love with them, too, and we ended up each following the other. 🙂

      Thanks so much; I’m glad you like my blog!!

  5. Lentils are the greatest! I think you found great balance in this soup. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  6. jboothyy says:

    This looks so good! I definitely want to try it 🙂

  7. csamom says:

    This looks perfect for winter, and anything with chickpeas gets my attention. I hadn’t seen “How I Ate my Box” before either. You gave me another CSA blog to check out as well. Thanks.

  8. Jayne says:

    I like this! I made something similar with peas, potato, cabbage and carrot. Cabbage is so sweet, isn’t it?

  9. sk says:

    Thanks so much for the link to my blog! I am so happy that you tried and liked this! One of the things I love about soups like this is that they are so adaptable to what you have on hand!

Leave a Reply

