Saturday Upsides: Being out of quarters saves me money

Welcome to another week of Saturday Upsides!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!  It’s great to take a break from “regular life” on the weekends and think of positive things to share.

**

laundry

I went to the bank yesterday.  Imagine my dismay when I decided to wash some laundry later, and I was out of quarters. (Apartment life!  I go through quarters like crazy!) I had two options:

1. Wait until today when I could get more quarters
or
2. Wash my laundry by hand and hang it on my drying rack inside.

I chose option two, and there are two upsides:

1. I saved money* (!!)
and
2. I didn’t have to make the trek to the laundry room in the cold and snow!

*although we have to pay for our laundry, we do not pay extra for our utilities in our apartment.

Today my laundry is all dry and ready to be put away.  I saved $2.50 and got to stay inside! 🙂

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Food 4 Thought NYC – Saturday Upsides: Taking a Leap of Faith

2. Youth lit. reviews – Saturday Upsides: New and Improved site coming soon

3. Day by Day Masterpiece – Saturday Upsides: Christmas Chili and & Les Mis

4. You could be here!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Being out of quarters saves me money

  1. I have a wonder washer hat was my MIL’s. She gave it to me before she passed away several years ago. They don’t have a large washing capacity, just light items like a shirt or two or several underthings, at a time. It is a lot of work and takes about 30-45 minutes to wash and rinse just a few things. Good to have and use in a pinch. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Not having to go out in the cold and snow and $2.50…that is a good thing.

  3. Hey Bonnie! It’s been a little while but I’m back on the ‘Saturday Upsides’ bandwagon. 🙂

    My post was more of a 2012 upside so I hope that’s okay. Here it is: http://food4thoughtnyc.com/2012/12/26/2012-upside-taking-a-leap-of-faith/

    Hope the final days of 2012 treat you well and looking forward to sharing more upsides with you in 2013. Happy New Year!! 🙂

  4. Katie says:

    This is a great one, and I can totally relate! When I lived in an apartment I hated paying to use the laundry room. Luckily I had family a few miles away who let me use their washer and dryer, but when that wasn’t convenient I would wash the clothes by hand (we didn’t pay for water either).
    Here’s my “Saturday Upside”:
    http://youthlitreviews.com/2012/12/29/saturday-upsides-new-and-improved-site-coming-soon/

  5. Pingback: saturday upsides & christmas chili | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    Staying inside is wonderful. Saving money is even better 🙂

Leave a Reply

