Tuna Patties

tuna patties 4

I grew up eating tuna patties occasionally, affectionately referred to by my parents as “tuna cookies.” I have made tuna patties a few times since getting married, but I recently started making them more often because I love tuna and they are much better for me than tuna salad, even though I do love tuna salad.

I like tuna patties for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.Β  Lately I’ve been really enjoying having one for breakfast, because I like to have a high-protein breakfast and tuna patties are lower fat than just having eggs every morning. πŸ™‚ (Plus, everyone loves variety!)

My friends on My Fitness Pal suggested that I share my tuna patties recipe, and if you haven’t added me yet on My Fitness Pal, you should!Β  It’s great to get encouragement to get and stay healthy!

Tuna Patties
Yield: 2 patties (Easy to increase recipe, though!)

1 5-ounce can of chunk light tuna in water, drained
1/2 cup quick oats (dry)
1 egg
several shakes of salt and pepper
1-2 tablespoons chopped onion
1-2 tablespoons chopped celery or green bell pepper, whichever you have*

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

tuna patties 2

2. Heat a skillet or griddle to medium-high heat, and spray with olive oil or other cooking spray.Β  With your hands, form two patties with the tuna mixture, and place each on the skillet or griddle.

tuna patties 3

3.Β  Cook for several minutes, turning each patty once, until lightly browned and cooked through.

Enjoy hot or cold!Β  I also love eating these in a sandwich with miracle whip, although that ups the calories considerably.Β  These are also great served beside mashed potatoes.

tuna pattiesYum!

*in these pictures I used celery, because I didn’t have bell peppers on hand.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in sandwiches, seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tuna Patties

  1. Maleesa says:

    Thank you for sharing your tuna patties recipe.I love tuna and these sound great!I will be making some tomorrow.Probably for breakfast πŸ™‚ They look great.Thanks again.

  2. Jayne says:

    I never thought of doing this before even though fish cutlets are pretty popular here. oy! I’ll be making this with some added cumin and stuff. You reckon I can use tuna chunks in olive oil or will that cause the patty to break up?

  3. Jill says:

    Yay! Thanks for the recipe! Ill be making these tomorrow for sure!

  4. Ben Gaiarin says:

    These look really good! I’ve never had tuna patties before, but I soon will!

  5. Yeah, these look great! I would have never, in a million years, thought to add oatmeal and an egg to tunafish!! I’m going to try these. Thanks always for your great ideas!!

    • You’re welcome!
      I might have shared this recipe sooner if I had known that so many people hadn’t heard of it! πŸ™‚ I guess I didn’t think it was anything special since I grew up with it. I’m so glad you guys appreciate it!

  6. Hannah Acheson says:

    Mmm. πŸ™‚ These remind me of my mother’s, though hers were made with crushed saltines and we called them “tuna CAKES.” I may have to reintroduce them to my lunch menu, thanks to your inspiration. πŸ˜‰

    • You’re so welcome!
      (Thank YOU for your inspiration on My Fitness Pal!! :))

      I don’t think there’s any “wrong” way to make these, and I love how healthy-diet-friendly they are. πŸ™‚

  7. tee14by14 says:

    These look good… I always add corn to mine:)

  8. AnneJisca says:

    Hey Bonnie! Thanks for following my blog (www.annejisca.com)! I had already opened your blog (from that FB thread) when you went on mine. πŸ˜‰ hehe Glad to be able to follow you too!

    I love patties! I have recipes for oatmeal, quinoa, chicken, and ham patties on my blog. I definitely want to try this one! My boys love finger food and love all the patties I’ve made so far. It tends to be a Sunday supper food because they’re easy to make. πŸ™‚

  9. eatdrinkroam says:

    Yum! I love patties, too!

  10. Shylie says:

    I needed a late night quick dinner for Abhi and me last week and I remembered seeing you post this so I looked it back up and made them on the spot! Boy, am I glad I did, too. They were DELICIOUS. We both love tuna and these were filling without being too much, simple and quick to make but still felt like a real meal; and best of all, healthy! Because I hate eating junk even worse late at night for some reason, lol. We had them on toasted whole wheat bread with some mayo and tomato slices, but I would totally eat them solo, too. We WILL be having these again. Thanks, Bonnie, for another great recipe!

  11. Pingback: Three-Day Menu | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

