Gingerbread Houses

gingerbread house 4Yes, I’m still around.  I guess I just took this “Christmas break” thing a little too seriously!  I’ve been spending time with my family, working, reading, watching old favorite movies, and trying to get in shape while my husband is on his trip.

What I am going to share today, though, did not aid in my getting into shape, but these days of holiday treats are behind us now. 🙂

I had never made a gingerbread house before this year, and it is something I highly recommend!  It was a lot of fun.  The first one I tried was with my friend Elizabeth, and she has a pampered chef gingerbread house mold.  I had never seen one before, but it is super cool and she got it used for only $3! (WOW!)

I wasn’t able to stay to finish it, but she sent me a picture of the finished product:

563571_10151192153221794_485695359_nVery cute, if you ask me!

Helping Elizabeth build this house made me really interested in making my own with my sister, and I asked her a lot of questions since she’s somewhat of a gingerbread-house-making-veteran. 😉

Since I don’t have a mold, I opted for the rolling-out-and-cutting method, and found a recipe online or the gingerbread and frosting.  The frosting worked great, and the gingerbread really hardened, which was great for the walls, but the taste/texture of the gingerbread seemed to leave something to be desired.  But it still made for a fantastic project!

gingerbread house 5gingerbread houseMy roof on the right side is a story in itself.  Let’s just say that we apparently didn’t follow the blueprints 100%.  Live and learn, right?

gingerbread house 2gingerbread house 3At the end, we really attacked this thing with candy.  As you can see, we went pretty crazy with just a few packages of holiday candy. 🙂

I’d love advice from any of you seasoned gingerbread house makers out there so we can do even better next year!  And if you have any questions about our experience, I’d be happy to answer them to the best of my ability. 🙂

PS: More posts coming soon, I promise!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gingerbread Houses

  1. Chef Randall says:

    So what is smaller now the Gingerbread House or still your kitchen? 🙂 Seriously Bonnie, well done for the first try. Your experienced hand at baking and cooking pays off. It always will.

    Look forward to your next post.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • We actually made the first gingerbread house at my friend’s house, and the second at my parents’ house. 🙂 It felt very freeing to have the space of a kitchen as large as (or larger than?) my kitchen, dining room, and living room combined. 🙂

      • Chef Randall says:

        Just don’t cook a few nights for your husband and he will wonder what’s going on. You tell him “I am to experienced now at cooking..my pots, pans and I are striking for a bigger kitchen.” Next day the walls are knocked down to may way for a kitchen 3 times the size you have now. 🙂

        Will it worked for my wife. Maybe not the kitchen but with other things. 🙂 Don’t tell him I told you this. 🙂

      • Funny story. 🙂

        However, we are in an apartment, so that probably wouldn’t work. We do plan to get a bigger place within the next few years, though, when we can buy. We just can’t justify spending more than we have to for something that’s not ours in the end. 🙂

        I don’t think I could do what your wife did – I love cooking! But like I said, it’s quite a funny story.

      • Chef Randall says:

        Your right Bonnie..I am just being humorous. And yes never remodel what is not yours. We have a house so we have that option. We had 12 yrs married before buying a home in 2003. Though I still would like a bigger kitchen. 🙂

  2. Jaclynn says:

    Oh, that is a cute gingerbread house! I made one a few years ago using templates and recipes from the internet and it worked out pretty good although with lots of siblings, it didn’t stick around for long! 😛 I was hoping to make one this year, but never got around to it…

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    Beautiful house!!

Leave a Reply

