Saturday Upsides: The Big Catch-Up

This is going to be a different Saturday Upside post.  I have not posted since last week, and I have several things to share.  I will not be doing my traditional Saturday Upside post, but I will put links at the bottom for yours!  Please still share this week if you are able!

      Bogdan and me

I will not be cooking as much for a while, because my husband is on a tour out of the country with Hollywood Film orchestra.  I still enjoy cooking for myself and guests, but I don’t feel as much like taking pictures, and my leftovers last me a lot longer. 🙂 I miss him a lot, but love our Skype dates!  We took this picture the day before he left.

Spoiler alert: many pictures in this phone were taken with a cell phone.  I know that a cell phone does not equal photography, but I still like using it. 😉

chai

I got some great samples of Twinings tea in my mailbox this week, and loved making some Chai while babysitting my nephew.

kitchen

I have discovered that it’s not as much fun cleaning my kitchen from top to bottom when there is no husband to come home to it!  I have to brag about it to him over Skype.  It still gives me the little push I need to keep a clean home, though. 🙂

philly cheesesteak sloppy joes

I got a chance today to try the recipe for Philly Cheesesteak Sloppy Joes from one of my favorite blogs, Diva di Cucina.  I was, however, a little silly and –

A. Didn’t take a picture
B. Didn’t follow the recipe 100%.  I actually put mine in burrito shells instead of hoagie buns. (It was still delicious, though!  I definitely recommend the recipe!) I shared these with my younger sister and her boyfriend, and we affectionately named my version “Philly Cheesesteak Sloppy Joe Burritos,” which is actually a bit of a tongue twister. 😉

egg salad with picklesThis week I also tried my regular egg salad, but with pickles added.  I’d give it two thumbs up!

cornmeal pancakes

Cornmeal Pancakes

I also enjoyed making breakfast for supper with my younger sister!  It’s fun to cook with others, although she did comment “Your kitchen is really, really small.” Thanks, sis, I didn’t know that. 😉

breakfast for supper

I tried putting frozen blueberries in that last pancake, but it was a few too many, I think.  Our cornmeal pancakes were fabulous, and I liked the Johnsonville Italian sausage patties I made (and cut in half) with this meal!  I had coupons for them a while back, and they work great for “breakfast” meals.  The syrup is homemade brown sugar syrup that I made from my family recipe (shared by my sister) because my maple syrup is almost gone.  This syrup recipe also comes highly recommended!

kitchen 2

The reason cell phones don’t equal photography. Hello, blurry!

I visited a friend recently and went thrift store shopping!  I haven’t really done any clothes shopping in about 6 months, and it was fun to pick up these shirts!  The one underneath is pink and white striped, and I don’t think it really matches the plaid.  However, I like them both so much that I have to wear them together.

saturdayupsidesbutton

**

I would still love to hear everyone’s Saturday Upsides this week!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Day by Day Masterpiece – Saturday Upsides: Meet Jude

2. Healthy Glow Nutrition – Saturday Upsides: “Happy 19th”

3. Preservings – Saturday Upsides: The Connecticut Tragedy

4. You could be here!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfasts, Cornmeal Pancakes, Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Saturday Upsides: The Big Catch-Up

  1. Well, one thing is sure; you do more with your little kitchen than a lot of people do with their big ones!

  2. divadicucina says:

    I think Philly sloppy tacos has a very nice ring to it! 😉

  3. tjthiessen says:

    Hi Bonnie! Thanks so much for continuing to share your recipes and pictures! I have been finishing a university course (education) and will be back to regular blogging. My Saturday Upside post is tied to the recent school shooting tragedy, but definitely not intended to be a trite response. Shared with respect and hope.
    http://preservings.wordpress.com/2012/12/15/the-connecticut-tragedy/

  4. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Hello Bonnie, Sometimes having time apart can be good, though I never like being away from my boyfriend :)Here is my upside,
    http://healthyglownutrition.wordpress.com/2012/12/15/saturday-upsides-happy-19/
    I hope you’re enjoying this holiday season 🙂
    Xo Eva

    • The worst part about having him gone is missing Christmas, New Years, my birthday, etc. together. But it’ll be over eventually. 🙂
      Thank you for sharing about your daughter today for Saturday Upsides! 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        Oh I didn’t realize he was away all that time, sorry ;(
        And you’re welcome, it is my pleasure to share. It is a real milestone for me and for her 🙂

      • It’s ok, don’t be sorry. 🙂 It’s hard, yes, but we decided it was worth it for the money/experience for him. 🙂
        Yes! Definitely a milestone. 🙂 Congrats.

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        Thank you so much 🙂 I agree, sometimes we have to do things that are not easy but are worth it in the long run 🙂

  5. Amanda Embry says:

    Looks like you have about as much counter space as I do between the sink and the stove. I love thrift shopping, too. I get some of my favorite clothes that way.

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    I had a small kitchen for years. Sometimes that is better 🙂
    You have so much going for you!!

  7. Jayne says:

    awww… I feel you, Bonnie. It’s always hard being separated from the hubs. I know that if my hubs isn’t around, I’d be tempted to just have an apple or cake for dinner. Every single night. That or pasta for every meal. Sigh. Hope you do find some friends or family to get together with!

  8. Jaclynn says:

    I hope the time that Bogdan is gone will pass quickly for you! But it still looks like you’ve been busy in the kitchen! Amy has a boyfriend….:D

  9. Pingback: Saturday Upsides – ish | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

