Saturday Upsides: The Decaf Coffee Story

Welcome to another week of Saturday Upsides!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!

**

I learned something this week.

Dark coffee (as in strong coffee) is not the same as dark roasted coffee.

Did you know that?

It’s a good story.  I had some great coffee coupons and trying to be an awesome wife, I brought my husband home a few bags.  I thought that “dark Italian roast” sounded like just his thing!  Upon my arrival at home, I learned that dark roasted coffee is more bitter, and that you can still make strong coffee with a light roast.  No big deal, I thought, and today I went back to the store to exchange the coffee.

I took care of the whole exchange, feeling pretty proud of myself for getting it right the second time.  I even toted that coffee along with me to my eye appointment, since both were at Walmart.

However.

Home again I went.  Someone apparently put at least one bag of coffee on the wrong shelf, because somehow one of my bags sneakingly says “decaf,” even though it looks just like the other bag!

I decided I didn’t want to exchange any more, and my husband said we could keep that around in case any guests liked decaf.  Or, he said, if I ever wanted to drink coffee… because he thinks I’m hyper enough without caffeine. 😉

So what is the upside of all this?

#1. I am thankful for returns, and that I at least was able to attempt to get the right coffee! (And did succeed for part of it.)

#2. I am glad that my husband is patient. 🙂

decaf coffee

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Pebble Joy – Saturday Upsides: 15 Minutes

2. Day by Day Masterpiece – Saturday Upsides: Reunited with my fam!

3. You could be here!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saturday Upsides: The Decaf Coffee Story

  1. I don’t like similar packaging. This reminds me of the time I wanted plain yogurt but came home with the strawberry flavor instead. It did say “original,” and I thought the little picture with strawberries was a serving suggestion. Yeah.

  2. petit4chocolatier says:

    So true, i have picked up the wrong item before due to this. And I don’t return it. Sometimes I give it away or use it. Good for you in returning it. That is what we should do 🙂
    Too expensive to have the wrong item!

  3. Tammy L says:

    LOL! Well, I love Italian roast… mmm 🙂 I like dark roasts AND strong-brewed coffee! 🙂 Would Bogdan drink decaf in the evening? 🙂 Wish I could come over and drink it for you. 😉

  4. Pingback: saturday upsides: reunited with my fam! | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

  5. Pingback: The Benefits of Drinking Coffee | Savor the Food

Leave a Reply

