Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Keep a Running Grocery List

kttovenmittbanner425I am once again linking up to Tammy’s Recipes for this week’s Kitchen Tip!

I hate getting home from the grocery store and realizing I forgot something.  I also hate deciding to make pizza crust and realizing I don’t have enough flour. (Yes, that has happened to me… a food blogger who loves making homemade pizza.) I have a theory for why this happens, though, and I have a solution:

Keep a running grocery list!

It’s quite simple, really.  Whenever you notice, while cooking, that you are low on something, write it down!  I keep my grocery list on the side of my fridge so it’s always handy.  I add things to it as soon as the day I get home from my previous grocery trip.  To me, there is nothing harder than trying to figure out everything you need right before you go shopping.  You’re always going to miss something.

DSCN3196PS: Don’t forget about my current cookbook giveaway! 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Keep a Running Grocery List

  1. Amanda Embry says:

    I do the same thing, only sometimes I write down an item, then later in the week notice again that I’m running low, so I write it again…Once I had a grocery list with “milk” written three times.

  2. flyfishbrat says:

    I love that you shared this idea. My mother taught me this method back in the dark ages. Whenever I tell a young cook, they look at me like I’m speaking another language. Glad to see the next generation still sees this as useful.

  3. Maryann darr says:

    I have my I-phone with me constantly. Whenever I think of something that I need at the grocery store, I list that item on my “Notes” on my phone. I have my phone in my hand at the grocery store. When I put that item in my buggy, I delete it from “Notes”. If I have a coupon for that item, I put an asterisk by the item and then, I get the coupon out of my coupon organizer so that I save the money when I pay out.

  4. I have a shopping app on my phone that I keep a running grocery list on. Since I’ve always got it with me, it’s easy to update whenever I think about something I need.

  5. csamom says:

    I usually have two running grocery lists, one for the grocery store, and a separate list for Costco items. I did keep lists on my iPhone as some others have commented, but with the last update, it lost all my Notes. I’m still so mad, I haven’t started using the Notes feature again…

    • sk says:

      OMG I would be so mad! I use the notes on my iPhone for SOO many things! I’m actually getting anxiety just thinking about loosing it!

  6. sk says:

    This is some sound advice! I am lucky in that my husband does almost all the grocery shopping for me! He’s a spreadsheet guy, so we actually keep a shared Google spreadsheet as a grocery list! (SUPER NERDY – I know) But it works great for us because we grocery shop in several different places, plus I have a CSA share. So we have a column for each grocery store and subdivide those into sections like produce, meat, dairy, etc. Plus we both have access to it, so whenever we are out of something, we can just slap it on the list! And it’s printable! WOOT!

Leave a Reply

