First Try: Homemade {Mint} Marshmallows

homemade mint marshmallows 3I feel like most of the things I cook are very simple and down-to-earth.  I don’t usually post recipes that leave people saying “That looks difficult” or “I would never have the guts to try those.”

I think that when the average person (that’s me!) reads “homemade marshmallows” a few alarm bells go off.  “I could never be successful at that” or “Sounds like it’s beyond my capabilities” were at the top of my list of fears.

Well, fear no more.  Marshmallows are actually not that hard to make! 🙂 It only took about 30 minutes to prepare them, but then they have to sit for about 4 hours before cutting them.

I made mint marshmallows following these instructions.  I followed the instructions very carefully and they did turn out just like she said they would.  There is a great video tutorial so you know you’re doing everything correctly.

I think I am just going to make plain marshmallows next time, though, and this is why: for the first time I think it would be nice to be able to taste the pure marshmallow without having its taste masked by the mint.  Also, I’d like to try dipping them in chocolate and coconut, and the mint doesn’t mix well with coconut for me.  So keep that in mind for yourself as well.

Homemade mint marshmallowsI used a glass dish for my marshmallows and didn’t have too much trouble removing them, with the help of a lot of powdered sugar and corn starch. (The video and recipe suggests using a silicone pan for easiest removal.)

homemade mint marshmallows 2I am eager to try more experiments with this recipe.  Have you tried making homemade marshmallows?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to First Try: Homemade {Mint} Marshmallows

  1. Yes, I made them in college. They are SO much better than the store-bought kind that I won’t even eat them now unless they are homemade. Yours look droolworthy! I wanna be your neighbor who gets the leftovers. 😉 The idea of peppermint is brilliant! I can hardly wait to try this and them put them in hot cocoa! nomnomnom!

  2. thatssojenn says:

    I’ve always wanted to make marshmallows! These look delicious–can’t wait to try the recipe! 🙂

  3. Andrea says:

    I made chocolate covered peppermint marshmallows last New Year’s based in a recipe in the Washington Post. My husband, who hates marshmallows, loved them. So much so he requested a non mint batch at Easter. They are fabulous, if a little messy to make.

  4. divadicucina says:

    Gonna have to make these for my hot cocoa gift baskets! 🙂

  5. I have always wanted to do homemade peeps for Easter…

  6. I’m about to make some (vanilla) marshmallows myself! I’ve made them before and have contemplated making mint ones, but I think you’re right — it’s nice to be able to taste the marshmallow on its own. Plus I usually make my cocoa with Rumplemintz so I get all my mint that way! =)

  7. csamom says:

    Wow, it never occurred to me that you could make homemade marshmallows. Flavored marshmallows suggests a non-ending list of possibilities. This sounds like a great activity with the kids over Christmas vacation.

  8. Jayne says:

    I’ve never tried making it even though I’ve seen hundreds of recipes floating around. Thing is, I don’t have a stand mixer and my hand mixer is of a lower grade so it won’t be able to stand the long mixing. 😦 But I live vicariously through you brilliant cooks out there. 🙂

    • 🙂
      About the mixer… I know that mine is one of the cheapest from Walmart and it was just fine through the mixing! So I don’t know, it might work? 🙂 But it would be disappointing to try and fail so maybe just keep it in mind for the future.

  9. I love making them. Chocolate ones are really good, too!

  10. Pingback: Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

