Corn and Potato Chowder

I have been on a soup kick lately!

My husband loves all my favorite soups, and his personal favorite is chicken chili. (I have been making many variations of my chili recipe with beef, chicken, or meatless.  I also vary the beans – black beans, kidney beans, or whatever I have on hand!)

Tonight I made Corn and Potato Chowder for supper.  It was superb.  I found myself still trying to eat more of it as I put away the leftovers after supper.  The red potatoes I had on hand were just what it needed.

Corn and Potato Chowder

16 small red potatoes, halved or quartered with skins on*
1 medium onion, chopped
1-2 stalks celery, chopped
1 cup water
2 cups chicken broth OR 2 cups water and 2 chicken bouillon cubes
3 cups milk
several shakes of paprika
1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic or one glove garlic, chopped
2 tablespoons butter
8 ounces frozen sweet corn
around 1/2 cup chopped ham or several strips of bacon, fried and chopped
3 tablespoons flour
1/2 – 1 teaspoon salt, to taste**

Directions:

1. In a large pot, combine chicken broth, potatoes, onion, butter, garlic, celery, and paprika.  Heat to boiling.  Reduce heat, cover, and boil for about 20 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.

2.  Add milk, corn, and ham.  Gradually heat to a boil.  While soup is heating, shake 1 cup water with 3 tablespoons flour.  Stir into the soup.  Heat to boiling, reduce heat, and cook for about 10 minutes.  Turn off burner and serve.

* If you don’t have red potatoes, use about 3 medium-large white potatoes.

** The amount of salt you need will vary based on how salty your chicken broth or bouillon is.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corn and Potato Chowder

  1. Chef Randall says:

    I just Happened onto a wonderful recipe. I will be honest, I don’t like corn really and don’t like chowders. But this sounds so good, I am going to make me some. Please make it keep Happening!! 🙂

    Chef Randall

Leave a Reply

