Peanut Butter Cookies

There’s something about the criss-crossed fork marks on peanut butter cookies that makes them special, or at least I think so.  I have made many peanut butter cookie recipes over the years but have never really had a staple recipe that I know I’ll make again and again.  Now I do, thanks to this blog I love.

So while peanut butter cookies are quite standard in many households, I thought I’d share this recipe that definitely deserves to be brought out again and again.

Peanut Butter Cookies
altered just slightly from Diva di Cucina

1/2 cup softened butter
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
Sugar, for rolling dough in*

Directions:

1. In a medium mixing bowl, combine softened butter, peanut butter, sugar, sugar, egg, and vanilla.  Pour flour, baking soda, and salt on top and mix well.

2.  Shape dough into 1-inch balls and roll in sugar.  Place on greased cookie sheets and press down twice with a fork.

3. Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 7-10 minutes. (Check at 6 or 7 minutes to start with!)

*The original recipe said to sprinkle the cookies with sugar, but I opted to roll them in sugar instead. 🙂 I’m sure the other way is excellent as well!

Do they look good enough to eat?  YUM! 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Katie says:

    These look absolutely amazing! I love that you rolled them in sugar. I don’t have a go-to scratch recipe for peanut butter cookies, but my “shortcut” recipe is this one
    I will definitely give these a try!

    • Oh hey, those look neat! I’ve never tried ANY cookie recipe, actually, that had a cake mix, although I know there are lots of them. It does look like a good shortcut. I’m happy to report that I think this recipe won’t take much longer than that one! 🙂

  2. Jayne says:

    The recipe seems so easy! A drizzle of ganache would take them over the top. That’s some idea. 😀

  3. I love reading all your new recipes! I HAD to comment on this one though as peanut butter cookies are by far my favourite! I’m veggie though so I do them slightly differently. Liking the idea of rolling them in sugar… YUM!! 😀

  4. Chef Randall says:

    Hey Bogdon better look out. With all those cookies, cakes and sweets going on over at your place you might need Weight Watchers. No seriously, you are a fortunate man to have a wonderful wife who loves to bake.

    Chef randall

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    These look amazing!!

  6. Pingback: National Peanut Board » Happy Peanut Butter Cookie Day!

Leave a Reply

