Saturday Upsides: The Holiday Season

Welcome to another week of Saturday Upsides!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!

**

Sometimes the start of the holiday season can be disheartening, even though it should be exciting.  I hate long lines at the grocery store and the age-old decision of what to get people for Christmas.  I’ve realized, however, that in this rush to get good deals we lose sight of actually spending time with our families on the holidays!

Sometimes, simple is better.  If cooking a turkey and making all the side dishes is too much for you to have a good time, make a simple meal and enjoy your family!

I would much rather be holding my nieces and nephews on holidays than planning shopping for the next day.  So yes, I had a great Thanksgiving with my family. 🙂

I attempted self-portraits in the passenger seat while Bogdan drove us “to Thanksgiving.”

I have mentioned before that my parents grow huge sweet potatoes.  This is my older sister peeling one of their potatoes that weighed over 9 pounds!  It was much more than we needed that night for baked sweet potato fries for fourteen people!

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Day by Day Masterpiece – Saturday Upsides: Even Chores have Silver Linings

2. Food 4 Thought NYC – Saturday Upside: Thanksgiving Through the Lens

3. You could be here!

4.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Saturday Upsides: The Holiday Season

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    That sweet potato is enormous!!! I knew that you said they were big, but WOW!

    • YEAH! lol 🙂
      My mom hasn’t given me any that are quite THAT big, because they don’t really keep once you cut into them, and I don’t think my husband and I could use one that size up very well. 🙂

  2. Dallas says:

    Great post, Bonnie! That is the most massive sweet potato I’ve ever seen! You weren’t kidding! 🙂
    Here’s my upside: http://daybydaymasterpiece.com/2012/11/24/saturday-upsides-even-chores-have-silver-linings/

  3. Pingback: saturday upsides: even chores have silver linings | Day-By-Day Masterpiece

  4. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Thanksgiving Through the Lens | FOOD 4 THOUGHT NYC

  5. Ditto on the potato! Is that the largest one they’ve ever had? I can’t imagine it ever getting bigger than that! 🙂

    Here’s my upside: http://food4thoughtnyc.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/saturday-upsides-thanksgiving-through-the-lens/

    • I am not sure if that’s the absolute largest one or not! 🙂 My parents are fantastic gardeners! They grew over 100 watermelons last year, and they grow massive heads of cabbage sometimes, too!

      Thanks again for doing Saturday Upsides! 🙂

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wow, a 9 pound potato!! I cannot get over it : )

  7. Amanda Embry says:

    Regarding low-stress holiday meals – I had DH’s parents, siblings, and grandparents over a few years ago for a Christmas brunch, and it worked GREAT! So much easier to fix than a full turkey dinner, and fun, since I like making muffins and things anyway. Everyone seemed to really enjoy it, too.

Leave a Reply

