Rice Pilaf

I am still really new at making rice pilaf, so I’d love to see any recipes you all have to share!  I thought I’d share what I have made so far. 🙂

Rice Pilaf

1 cup uncooked white rice
– 2 cups water
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1 tablespoon butter
1 cup frozen peas
1 large carrot, cut/sliced
several grinds of pepper
1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic or 1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 medium onion, cut/sliced
1 tablespoon butter
additional salt, to taste

Directions:

1. Cook rice according to package directions with 2 cups water, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1 tablespoon butter.

2. Meanwhile, prepare carrots and onions, and fry in a medium skillet with 1 tablespoon butter and garlic until tender.

3. When carrots and onions are tender, add ground pepper, frozen peas, and cooked rice.  Cook for several minutes, at least until peas are dark green, stirring well to prevent clumping.

4. Add additional salt to taste (if needed) and serve!

Does anyone know what makes rice into “rice pilaf”?  Does it need to have nuts in it to be considered pilaf?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rice Pilaf

  1. Definitely looks better than the stuff out of a box! 🙂 Looks yummy. Though for some reason I always though the pilaf part was the nut slivers but I’ve gotten that wrong. And this looks easy to make as well.

  2. Oh yum! I wanna try this with brown rice:)

  3. Jayne says:

    Wonderful rice dish! We eat rice practically everyday in my household. I have one fried rice recipe on my site and another coming up soon. Will keep you posted!

  4. babso2you says:

    Pilaf is a mixture of rice and pasta. Typically Orzo…the rice and pasta get browned in butter and then the liquid is added. After adding the liquid, bring to a boil, then cover and turn the heat down to simmer. Do not remove the lid….The browning gives pilaf the lovely golden tones. You can add your sauteed veges after the rice is cooked just before serving….Still a lovely recipe that you have posted.

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    Your rice looks perfect!!

  6. Lisha Faison says:

    That dish looks awesome! What makes it into rice pilaf is the method used to cook the rice. It means the rice is cooked with seasoned broth. Primarily the rice is sauteed with butter, mixed with the broth, aromatics and veggies; then braised in the oven with seasoned broth. Nuts are a grat garnish too! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

