Saturday Upsides: Making it Homemade

Thanks for checking out Saturday Upsides!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!

**

Homemade french fries and grilled chicken

Sometimes the decision to make food at home instead of eating out or buying ready-made food can be tough.  Although we know that a lot of homemade foods are better for us and/or cheaper, it can still be a tough decision to make.  I thought I’d share a few things that encourage me to make food at home, aside from cost and healthfulness.

1. I love cooking with my husband! (He doesn’t always help me, for sure, but it’s fun sometimes when he does.)

2. A lot of my homemade food is so much better than restaurant food! 🙂

3. It’s great to know how to make a variety of foods (and keep learning/trying new things) because even if money is not an issue, eating out is not always an option and not always quickest.

4. Eating at home is stress-free.  Have you ever been at a busy restaurant waiting and waiting to get your drink refilled?  Have you ever waited in a long line at a fast-food place just to get your order fixed incorrectly?

So instead of seeing the downside of having to eat at home, I like to try to find the upside. 🙂

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.

**

1. Food 4 Thought NYC – Saturday Upsides: Dog Therapy is the Best Therapy

2. Preservings – Saturday Upsides: Let Sleeping Dogs Lie or Where’s the Upside in this?

3. You could be here!

4.

5.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Making it Homemade

  1. I LOVE making homemade fries. I bake them instead of frying them, so they’re healthier, and you don’t have to skimp on any of the seasonings or sauce after.I hear you, waiting to ask for more ketchup at a restaurant is the worst!

    My post this weekend is all about my dog, a living embodiment of an upside. 🙂
    http://food4thoughtnyc.wordpress.com/2012/11/17/saturday-upside-dog-therapy-is-the-best-therapy/

    Thank you and have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  2. petit4chocolatier says:

    I agree so much with your post. So much more pleasurable eating and entertaining at home.
    This looks perfect; and I love homemade french fries!

  3. tjthiessen says:

    Mmm, home-made fries. One of my best memories of my dad growing up was him spending hours cooking up pan after pan of homemade fries for us kids ’til we were stuffed silly. French fry night was soooo good!

    And then I check out the first Upsides link (dog therapy!) and wonder whether I was on the same wavelength as Food4Thought NYC! Must have been! Here’s my post:
    http://preservings.wordpress.com/2012/11/17/let-sleeping-dogs-lie-or-wheres-the-upside-in-this/

  4. I made homemade fries this weekend. I sliced potatoes then baked at 500° for about 25 minutes and they were crunchy! Much healthier than fried. I love to cook instead of dining out, so you are preaching to the choir. LOL

Leave a Reply

