My Mom’s Cole Slaw

My mom has shocked many, many people with her cole slaw recipe.  I’ve heard multiple times while entertaining guests, “I only took cole slaw to be polite, and now I’m taking seconds!” While I know everyone has different tastes, many people have said that this is the best cole slaw recipe around.  My husband loves this recipe.

My Mom’s Cole Slaw

14 cups shredded/chopped cabbage (I prefer mine not finely shredded)
1 small onion, chopped
1 large shredded carrot

For dressing:
1 cup oil
1 cup sugar
1 cup white vinegar
1 tablespoon salt

Directions:

1. Combine dressing ingredients, stirring to dissolve sugar.

2. Mix cabbage, onion, and carrot in a large bowl and stir dressing in until well coated.

3. Refrigerate leftovers.

Note: If you only like creamy cole slaws, this one may not be for you!  I greatly dislike cole slaws that in any way resemble the cole-slaw-dressing-from-a-jar kind, so this one is for me!

Since this recipe is best when eaten the day it is made, if you are a smaller family you might not want as large of a batch.  This is how much I used today:

4 1/2 cups shredded/chopped cabbage
1/3 small onion, chopped
1 small shredded carrot

For dressing:
1/3 cup oil
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 teaspoon salt

My older sister Tammy also shared this recipe here.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Mom’s Cole Slaw

  1. Jennay says:

    I love coleslaw made this way…and I’m not a mayo fan at all…in fact the only time I have mayo is with tuna!!

    • Wow, that sounds like me! I always use mayo in my tuna salad… well, usually Miracle whip. (Some people use those terms interchangeably though. I do like Miracle whip in tuna… a lot. :))

      Love love love this cole slaw 🙂

  2. Leilani says:

    Who’d have thought? Over the summer my husband and I enjoyed a vinaigrette-type coleslaw that was made with red wine vinegar and had dried cranberries in it. So refreshing! Thanks for sharing.:)

  3. This looks fabulous:) I love coleslaw:)

  4. You know, this may be a cole slaw I would eat. 🙂 This looks nice and fresh!

  5. flyfishbrat says:

    I can’t wait to try your Mom’s cole slaw. It seems very similar to the slaw served out here in Southern Indiana. I just haven’t found the right recipe and this may be it. Thanks for the lovely post.

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    This is perfect. I really don’t like mayo on a lot of food and am going to try this! I love the dressing so much more : )

  7. tjthiessen says:

    And now I know what to do with that head of cabbage sitting in my fridge drawer! Thank you!

  8. Pingback: Biscuit Topped Casserole | Recipes Happen

  9. Pingback: Salsa in California | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

