Sweet Potato Crescents

Yesterday my sister Tammy gave me a few recipes she had cut out of Taste of Home magazines.  This particular one caught my eye and I tried it today!  I love trying new ways to use the sweet potatoes from my parents!

These crescents are moist and incredibly soft and fluffy!!  You, of course, can’t really taste the sweet potatoes.  My husband loves them.

Sweet Potato Crescents

Yield: 3 dozen
Adapted from Taste of Home, 2000

2 teaspoons dry yeast
1 cup warm water (110 – 115 degrees Fahrenheit)
2 cups mashed sweet potatoes*
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup shortening (I used softened butter)
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
6-7 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup butter, softened

Directions:

1. In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in water; let stand for 5 minutes.

2. Beat in the sweet potatoes, sugar, shortening, egg, salt, and 3 cups of the flour.

3. Add enough remaining flour (1-2 cups more) to form a stiff dough, and knead with hands.  Gradually add more flour until dough is smooth and elastic.  (The amount of flour you use will vary depending on your sweet potatoes and climate.)

4.  Grease dough, and cover it.  Leave in a warm place until it has risen to double.  Punch dough down; divide into thirds.

This is what mine looked like after it rose.  It was so perfect!!

5. Roll each portion into a 12-inch circle; cut each into 12 wedges.  Brush with softened butter.  Roll up from the wide end and place, pointed end down, 2 inches apart on greased baking sheets.

6. Cover and let rise until doubled.

7. Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 10-14 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from pans to wire racks.

* The original recipe called for one 15-ounce cane of sweet potatoes, mashed.  I cooked and mashed (with a hand mixer) my fresh sweet potatoes, and measured 2 cups.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Dinner Rolls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sweet Potato Crescents

  1. What a great idea. I love cooking with sweet pootatoes. Ill have to give this a try!

  2. squackydack says:

    I am so trying this!! I will replace the egg to make a vegan version, looks delicious!!!

  3. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Looks delicious! Who needs Pillsbury with all the added crap when you can make your own 😊

  4. Skuggs says:

    These look brilliant! Presumably you te them with cheese and soup?

  5. Leah says:

    Yum – these look great! Can’t wait to give this recipe a try but I’ll probably cut it in half.

  6. squackydack says:

    so after you cut them and roll them, you cover them (with a tea towel or something?) and let them double in size, and then put them into the oven? How long does it take for them to double in size before you bake them????? trying them out now and not sure if i am doing the right thing???

    • It probably took about 30-40 minutes for mine to double in size. It sounds like you’re doing everything right so far!

      I did put mine on/around my stove (which was off!) which was a very warm area. That makes a difference. They will get bigger. 🙂

      • squackydack says:

        oh my godfather. these are amazing. i was in a bit of a rush so they only sat for about 20 mins before i put them in the oven. they stil turned out well. i need to perfect the rolling technique, i realised that obviously having some larger than others made the cooking time a bit for the fat ones i rolled. i am making these again, my mama also loved them!!!! thank you for posting this gem. ohhh and i made a vegan version and used egg replacer, turned out great.

      • AWESOME!

        What a great success story! I’m sure they were great, and I must say that not all mine were the same size either, obviously!

        It’s funny, these took a little longer to make than I realized at first (I didn’t think about all the steps!) and I was still baking them when my piano student came. 😛 He didn’t mind. 🙂

        I’m glad to hear that the egg replacement worked – thanks for letting me know!

  7. Definitely going to make this recipe this holiday season! I’m almost drooling here it looks so good.

  8. May just have to add this to the Thanksgiving menu!

  9. csamom says:

    I made these with pumpkin puree instead of mashed sweet potatoes, and the family like them so much, I may have to roast some more pumpkin. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Pumpkin Rolls and Blueberry Smoothies | csamom

  11. Joyce says:

    Hey! I am doing this for my exam and i was wondering if you need to refrigerate the rolled out dough (before making crescents) or is it not that sticky? Thanks! (:

Leave a Reply

