Sweet Potato Cheddar Soup

When I first contemplated making sweet potato soup, I looked at a lot of recipes.  I just wasn’t so sure about the whole concept.  I finally decided to give this recipe a try, and I’m so glad that I did!  I will definitely be sharing this recipe with others and making it again soon!  While I urge you to check out the original recipe, I did vary it slightly and will share my version!

Sweet Potato Cheddar Soup, made with white sweet potatoes

Sweet Potato Cheddar Soup

4 large sweet potatoes* (or – I used 2 massive sweet potatoes grown by my parents!)
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
4-5 cups vegetable or chicken stock
8-12 ounces grated or cubed cheddar cheese
1/4 teaspoon pepper
– salt, if desired, to taste

Directions:

Microwave instructions:
1. Place two paper towels on a microwave-safe plate.  Wash sweet potatoes, and poke a few holes in them.  Microwave on high for 10-20 minutes, until they are tender when poked. (My massive potatoes took about 24 minutes!)  Let cool slightly, and then remove and discard skins.  Place potatoes in a medium bowl.

Stove-top instructions:
1. Peel sweet potatoes, chop into several chunks each, and cover with water in a saucepan.  Simmer until tender; drain water.

My white sweet potatoes

2. Use a hand blender to puree the sweet potatoes.

3. In a medium-large stock pot, melt butter and add onions.  Cook until onions are translucent.  Turn off heat, and mix in flour with a fork, until there are no lumps.  Gradually add the milk, stirring constantly.  Add four cups of broth and heat until mixture thickens.

4. Gradually add the milk/broth mixture to the sweet potato puree, until about 2 cups have been mixed in. (This will make the sweet potatoes thinner and easier to combine with the broth.) Add all the sweet potato mixture to the milk/broth mixture, and stir until smooth.  Add cheese and pepper, stirring to melt.  If soup seems too thick, add one more cup of broth.

5. Taste to see if salt is needed, and if so, add it 1/4 teaspoon at a time.  My broth was salty enough that I did not need additional salt.

*My soup is not very orange because I used white sweet potatoes.  It certainly is delicious, though!

This is one of my new favorite soups!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sweet Potato Cheddar Soup

  1. Jennay says:

    Yum…this looks delicious! I’ll have to try it out! Thanks for sharing! =) Good day for soup too…it’s freezing here!

  2. That recipe looks so good and simple! I have not made sweet potato soup before and am going to try this. Hope your week is great!

  3. 'Becca says:

    Mmm, sounds great! I love cheese, but I don’t think I’ve ever tried cooking it into a soup as opposed to melting some into the individual servings.

    Have you tried Diana Dyer’s sweet potato soup? It’s incredibly nutritious and really, really tasty!

  4. Pingback: Lentil and Cabbage Soup | Recipes Happen

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    This is outstanding on all levels. I have been meaning to make soup and am tiring of the same ones. This is perfect. I have never seen white sweet potatoes. I am on a local search now 🙂

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

    • No, that’s just fine! 🙂
      Yeah, I’m not sure how they started it, but my parents grown both white and yellow… looks more like yellow and orange, I guess. 😀
      But I’m sure any kind of sweet potatoes OR yams would be just fine in this recipe. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Salsa in California | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

