Quick Supper – Shepherd’s Pie

 

Sometimes I come home from work to my kitchen looking like that.  At times like this, it’s hard to decide what to make for a quick yet also cheap and healthful supper!  So I thought I’d share a simple food I like to make for last-minute suppers, or as a way to finish off leftovers!

Shepherd’s Pie

– 1 pound ground beef, fried with chopped onion and seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder
– around 4 cups of salted, cooked veggies – peas, carrots, corn, green beans, etc.
– leftover mashed potatoes, or instant potatoes (about “4 servings” of instant potatoes)
– cheddar cheese

Directions:

1. Cook vegetables, and salt them. (If you are using frozen, heat them up in a pan or in the microwave.) Lay them across the bottom of a baking dish.  I used a strange 10×10 baking dish my Grandma gave me, but almost any size would work.  If it’s big, that’s fine.  If it’s small, use two dishes!

2. Fry ground beef with seasonings, and layer on top of the vegetables.

3. Spread the mashed potatoes over the beef.

4. Top with cheese – I used about 1 cup.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for around 20-30 minutes.

This is an excellent leftover for lunches!  It reheats so easily in the microwave, so I love taking it to work!  It’s not glamorous, but it’s delicious. 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Quick Supper – Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Katie says:

    Yum! Shepherd’s pie is one of my favorite dinners. I don’t usually add cheese to the top of mine, but it looks very tasty. I will definitely give your version a try!

  2. JoBoVo says:

    Quebec has its own version of Shepherd’s pie which is ground beef, corn/creamed corn and mashed potatoes. I used to eat eat on a very regular basis when I was growing up and I still make it once in a while. I definitely want to give your version a shot too! Looks great!

  3. bah… that kitchen sink picture is all too familiar. I’m trying to get better at cleaning all of my dishes right after dinner…it’s not always easy to motivate myself after spending all that time cooking, plus having a full satisfied belly.

  4. This looks so easy and better yet so thrifty!!

  5. This looks delicious. 🙂 But to be a bit of a stickler, shepherd’s pie is made with lamb and cottage pie is made with beef. I love these because they are such a great comfort food that can be very healthy.

  6. Bekah says:

    Always hated Shepherds Pie. Are you starting to get the idea that I hate food all mixed together yet?! 😛

  7. Pingback: Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie | Recipes Happen

  8. Kayla Gennett says:

    I’ve never had Shepherd’s Pie like this. I’ve always made mine with the ground beef, corn, mashed potatoes, and cream of mushroom soup. I mix the cream of mushroom soup in with the ground beef and then the mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

