Sweet and Sour Meatballs

 

I haven’t made a whole lot of “sweet and sour” foods.  Growing up, we didn’t usually eat them because my dad wasn’t really a fan of sweet hot foods – like pineapple with chicken.  I bought some ground beef this week, though, and when I found this recipe in my cookbook I had to try it!  I got Dole pineapple on sale with a coupon recently, and my mom gave me green peppers from her garden before it froze.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs
adapted from Taste of Home Winning Recipes, vol. 2 cookbook

1 egg
1 tablespoon chopped dried onion
1 tablespoon milk
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4-1/2 cup bread, torn into small pieces*
dash of pepper
1 pound ground beef (ground chuck is what I used)
1 can (20 ounces) pineapple chunks
1/8-1/4 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/2-1 cup sliced carrots (I sliced mine on an angle, so they’re pretty!)
1 medium green pepper, sliced (also on an angle)
4 teaspoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons cold water
Hot cooked rice (I cooked 1 cup of white rice)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a medium bowl, combine egg, bread, dried onion, milk, ginger, salt, pepper, and beef.  Mix with your hands and shape into 1-inch balls, placing them into a greased baking dish.  Bake for about 30 minutes, or until meatballs are cooked thoroughly.

3. While meatballs are cooking…
Drain the pineapple, reserving juice, and set pineapple aside.  Add water to juice to measure 1 cup.  Add the 1 cup of water/juice, vinegar, brown sugar, and soy sauce to a large skillet, and start heating on medium.  Add the carrots, and bring to a boil.  Simmer until carrots are crisp-tender.  Stir in green pepper and reserved pineapple; cover and simmer 4 minutes longer or until pepper is crisp-tender.

4. In a small bowl (I use a small serving bowl), combine the cornstarch and water until smooth.  Pour into vegetable mixture, stirring constantly.

5. When the meatballs are finished, take them from the baking dish and place in the large skillet, careful to leave the drippings.  Simmer for 2 minutes, and serve over rice.

*This recipe originally called for store-bought bread crumbs.  I assume that breadcrumbs or crushed saltine crackers would work if you don’t have bread.

 

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Beef Entrees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sweet and Sour Meatballs

  1. I’m a fan of sweet and sour and this looks so good. Thanks for posting the recipe.

  2. divadicucina says:

    Yum! Totally gonna have to try this one of these nights! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Recipe—Sweet and Sour Meatballs | Diva di Cucina

Leave a Reply

