Saturday Upsides: Of Hamburger Helper

This week has flown!  It’s hard to believe that it’s “Saturday Upsides” time again!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this weekend and every weekend to share a positive story from your life!

**

Look at that scary version of me! 😉

The two scariest things for me to share, as a food blogger are:

1. Food flops (although I try to share, and it’s helpful!)
&
2. Posts admitting that I make Hamburger Helper sometimes! (Gotten on sale with coupons, of course! ;))

Sometimes I feel like weeks I work more than others I’m no longer a cool blogger because I don’t share as much.  Sometimes I cook a lot these weeks, but don’t have time or energy to get pictures.  Sometimes, I make Hamburger Helper and eat salads and veggies and boring blog-topic things.

The upside to this is that the world doesn’t cave in when I don’t cook a nice meal, and my husband still loves me. 🙂  Sometimes, stepping back and taking a break at the end of the day is what keeps me cheerful all day!  And that’s awesome!

By the way, it’s ironic that I’m actually working on an upcoming post about how to avoid eating Hamburger Helper every night but still make quick suppers when you’re swamped. 🙂

I’d love to hear something good you noticed/learned or that happened to you this week, and how you looked at a seemingly bad situation in a positive way!

**

So now it’s your turn!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.
**

1. Truly Skrumptious – 31 Days of Heart and Home: Family and Craft Botiques

2. Freezer Burned – Suddenly Susan – Saturday Upsides: Rainy Days don’t always get my Down

3. Food 4 Thought NYC – How to Make Friends and Embrace People

4. You could be here!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Of Hamburger Helper

  1. Shh…I’m hoping my husband forgets about hamburger helper–still loves it from his bachelor days 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stay-home Taco Night | Recipes Happen

  3. Amanda says:

    Hamburger helper is one of my guilty pleasures too! Reminds me of being a kid. Have you ever tried making your own homemade version? I made this recipe http://iowagirleats.com/2012/01/26/bachelor-food-redo/ It’s just as easy as the boxed kind and you feel less guilty!

  4. I like this idea, but don’t want to blog on the weekends, so I like that it’s already up today!! Your blog makes me smile! : > http://trulyskrumptious.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1116&action=edit

  5. Pingback: 31 Days of Heart and Home: Family and Craft Boutiques « Truly Skrumptious

  6. Aww I really enjoyed this post Bonnie! You know, I feel that way a lot when it comes to my recipe posts and it can overwhelming sometimes. Like, I just want to cook and not stop every 10 minutes to take pictures! It’s okay to take shortcuts when you need to. I’d love to sit and make my own pasta sauce or hummus or whatever, but we have jobs, you know?! lol. Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend. Looks like you’re getting started with those tacos. 🙂

    Here’s my Saturday Upside post! http://food4thoughtnyc.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/saturday-upside-how-to-make-friends-and-embrace-people/

  7. freezerburnedsusan says:

    Some weeks are just better than others. No worries! I’ve found people will keep following even if I don’t post as often as I’d like to. Enjoy the weekend! Here’s my upside: http://freezerburned-suddenlysusan.blogspot.com/2012/10/saturday-upside-rainy-days-dont-always.html

  8. csamom says:

    We had a huge quantity of tuna after a fishing trip a few years ago. Tuna Helper turned out to be the only way we could get the kids to keep eating the last 10+ fish. Oh, and we started telling them it was halibut. 🙂 Sometimes, it hits the spot!

  9. I had to laugh when I read this. Yes, sometimes you just gotta have hamburger helper or Kraft Mac and cheese- haha.

Leave a Reply

