Mushroom-Stuffed Omelet

I think it’s a happy morning in my house when I say “I’m going to make something good for breakfast!” It’s kind of hard to seriously mess up breakfast food, in my opinion.  (And we all know that I’ve had my share of food mishaps!)

I decided to make an omelet today because it had been a while, and I once again have mushrooms from a sale at Aldi – 59 cents for 8 ounces!  I also have onions from Aldi that were only 59 cents for 3 pounds, so I just couldn’t go wrong with this omelet.

Mushroom-Stuffed Omelet
Serves 2

3 eggs
4 ounces sliced fresh mushrooms (or frozen)
1/2 medium onion, chopped/sliced
about 1/2 cup cheese (cheddar, mozzarella, or a mixture)
1 tablespoon milk
salt, to taste
several shakes of granulated garlic and dried parsley
2 tablespoons butter

Directions:

1. In a medium skillet, fry the mushrooms, onion, garlic, and parsley in 1 tablespoon of butter until tender.  Add several shakes of salt, and set aside, out of the skillet.

2.  Whisk together the three eggs, milk, and several shakes of salt.  In the same medium skillet, melt the other tablespoon of butter.  Pour in the egg mixture.  Cook, covered, for several minutes on low heat until the egg is cooked through.

3. Place the mushroom mixture and the cheese on one half of the egg.  Fold over the other half.  Cover the skillet again and leave burner on low until cheese is melted.

Perfect for Bogdan and me!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mushroom-Stuffed Omelet

  1. Leah says:

    Yum! Definitely craving a mushroom omelet now!

  2. Marius M says:

    I will try it in weekend. Looks great

  3. Pingback: Chipotle Orange Shrimp | Fitness Fits Me

  4. Hi Bonnie,
    I posted a link to your post in my blog. I had been meaning to post a similar recipe but couldn’t figure out how to make it look nice. Thanks to your post, I’ve had a nicer looking mushroom omelet twice this week! Thanks.

    • I still keep getting a toasted side, but knowing it was supposed to be cooked covered helped. 🙂

      • I’m glad you’re doing better with omelets!

        Keeping the temperature low and the lid on helps a lot with cooking the egg without toasting. 🙂

        I must confess, though, that I do still use my Teflon skillet for omelets! I’m just not that good with stainless steel yet!!

        My older sister makes her eggs in stainless steel, though, and I know she’s posted about it before. http://www.tammysrecipes.com

  5. Melissa says:

    My goodness those pictures got me drooling! This recipe will be happening in the near future in my kitchen.

  6. Pingback: Brisket Stuffed Omelet | Fitness Fits Me

Leave a Reply

