Cream of Broccoli Soup

It’s another blustery day here, so it’s perfect for soup again!  This soup is not only beautiful and full of flavor, but also healthful and easy to make.

Cream of Broccoli Soup

3 cups milk
1 cup water
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour (or rice flour)
1 cup grated cheddar cheese, or 1 cup cubed Velveta (which is more smooth)
1 large head broccoli, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
1 cup grated carrots
1 tablespoon Tamari or Soy sauce
1/8 teaspoon dried rosemary
1/2-1 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. In a 2-quart pot add water, broccoli, onion, carrots, and rosemary.  Bring to a boil.  Cover and simmer for 15 minutes (until tender).  Set aside off burner.

2. In a saucepan, melt butter and gradually stir in flour.  When lumps have dissolved, add milk and stir briskly with a fork.  When mixture thickens, add cheese until creamy.  Pour this into the vegetables.

3. Stir until water is mixed with milk.  Add Tamari/soy sauce and salt and simmer for 5 minutes.

These pictures are of this soup made with cheddar cheese.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cream of Broccoli Soup

  1. Lois says:

    It looks lovely… and I like broccoli… I’m just not sure I would like it as a soup… but your recipe does look very tempting!

  2. Katie says:

    You’re a lifesaver, Bonnie! I had no idea what to make for dinner tonight, and now I do! Broccoli and cheese are among the few items left in my mostly empty fridge. I’m off to make some soup, but I will be sure to report back!

  3. Jennifer M. says:

    Believe it or not, I hardly ever make homemade soup – I usually open a can! But this recipe looks so easy and good, I just might give it a try! Thanks.

    • I think the reason I am used to making homemade soup is that my mom made all kinds of soup, and only used cans for cream-of-mushroom, or if any of those cream-of soups (chicken, celery) were needed in a recipe.

      So I grew up with broccoli soup, bean soup, vegetable soup, tomato soup, etc. homemade. 🙂

      This recipe IS pretty easy… I hope it encourages homemade soup-making! 🙂

  4. Jaclynn says:

    Broccoli soup is one of my favorites! yum!

Leave a Reply

