French Onion Soup

The weather becoming more and more like winter does not make great photo opportunities, but it does provide excellent blustery days for soups!

… Such as the ever-so-fabulous French Onion Soup!

Ingredients:

2 medium-large onions, chopped

1/8 – 1/4 cup butter

1/2 teaspoon salt (start with 1/4, use 1/2 if you think it’s needed)

  – approximately 4-5 cups water (this can be varied if you feel it needs more or less)

  – 2 chicken bouillon cubes

  – 1 beef bouillon cube

(Alternately, you can use 2 cups beef broth, 1 cup chicken broth, and 1-2 cups water)

1 1/2 tablespoons flour

1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon dried thyme

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder or granulated garlic

1 medium tomato, chopped, or 1 tablespoon ketchup

several drops hot sauce (I have tried Tabasco or Tapatio)

– French bread, croutons, and cheeses!

    – I like any combination of shredded mozzarella, Swiss, asiago, or Parmesan.

Directions:

1. In a medium stock pot, melt butter and add onions, garlic powder/granulated garlic, pepper, and thyme.  (You may also want to add about 1/4 cup water to aid in cooking.) Cook, covered until onions are almost done.  Add ketchup or tomato, and boil, covered, until tender.

2. Stir in flour.

3. Add hot sauce and remaining water and broth/bouillon cubes.  Salt to taste.  Heat to boiling, and turn off to serve immediately or keep cooking to serve shortly.

To serve, top each soup bowl with shredded cheese and croutons and/or French bread.*

*It’s delicious if you “toast” your slices of french bread in the oven (on “broil”) for a couple minutes with butter, thyme, and garlic on each slice.

If you like Panera Bread’s French Onion Soup, you’ll like this one!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to French Onion Soup

  1. Marius says:

    I will try it. It looks very good

  2. I adore french onion soup, but I never think to make it at home. I really should try this recipe. It’s perfect for this time of year.

  3. synthetikat says:

    Awesome! I just made French Onion soup recently. Not quite like this though. But I didn’t have time to photograph and get a recipe out because of school.

    I have a tip that you can obviously take or leave but it made an amazing difference in the flavor of my soup. I’ve made the same recipe a few times but never added the ‘optional’ wine. When I did add a cup of dry red wine, it made an awesome difference and the bf thought so too. To cut costs red cooking wine can be used too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

