Pumpkin French Toast beside Maple-Fried Bacon

It is fully fall around here, and when I saw this recipe for pumpkin french toast with maple-fried bacon, I had to try it!  I’m so glad I did, and now I can share it with you.  I hope you do check out the original, and I’m going to share with you how I made it since I did mine slightly differently.

Maple-Fried Bacon

The original recipe said to marinate 4 slices of bacon in 2 tablespoons of maple syrup for 1/2 hour.  I used 8 slices of turkey bacon, but still about 2 tablespoons of maple syrup.  We love our bacon!

Fry the bacon in a large skillet over medium heat until it is crispy.  Be careful to keep an eye on it, because the syrup makes it more prone to stick/burn. (But the syrup also makes it oh-so-good!!)

I think that marinating regular bacon in maple syrup has a much better taste than maple-flavored bacon does.

Pumpkin French Toast

adapted from this post

4 eggs

3/4 cup pumpkin puree (or sweet potato puree!)

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon cloves

(Can use 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice instead of the previous 4 spices)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

bread*

butter, to fry french toast in

Directions:

1. Beat the eggs, pumpkin, spices, and vanilla together in a small bowl.

2. Heat 1 teaspoon of butter on a griddle or skillet on medium-high heat.  Dip slices of bread into the pumpkin mixture, coating on both sides, and place on the griddle or skillet.  Fry until lightly browned on each side.  Repeat until all the pumpkin mixture is used.

3. Serve with butter and/or maple syrup and bacon.  (We found that the bacon really completed this breakfast – the pumpkin french toast alone was not as good as it was served beside the bacon.)

* Bread varies so much in size that I didn’t want to put a number of slices here.  I used about 12 small pieces of bread.

This was SO delicious!! 🙂

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pumpkin French Toast beside Maple-Fried Bacon

  1. Jennifer M. says:

    It looks good – so glad you tried it! I completely agree that marinating your own bacon in syrup tastes better than “flavored bacon.” And you’re right – watch the bacon carefully because it gets very sticky and can burn. Thanks so much for featuring my recipe 🙂

    • recipeshappen says:

      Oh you’re welcome!
      I’m happy to share any recipe that’s so fabulous. 😉
      I am not positive, but I bet that maple flavored bacon doesn’t have real maple syrup in it. Either way, this was just fabulous.

  2. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Just getting my appetite back and this looks really yummy! Mmmmnnn bacon 🙂

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wow! This looks so good right now! Pumpkin french toast and maple fried bacon; double yummy!

  4. Catherine says:

    We had french toast and bacon for breakfast this morning! Yum! 🙂 I will have to try this maybe next weekend after I cook up my pumpkin. 😛

  5. Yummy! Great fall breakfast 🙂

  6. findingelina says:

    Very interesting recipe! Bacon is good with everything 🙂 Seems like a nice energizer breakfast for the weekend! I might try it this week! 🙂

  7. Mmm! I wouldn’t have thought to marinate the bacon myself, but why not? Real maple syrup would be so much better than whatever “partially hydrogenated imitation maple flavoring” would be on commercial maple bacon. Genius! Hello, weekend breakfast … 🙂

  8. babso2you says:

    You need real bacon! Honestly that turkey stuff just does not look right! 🙂 My dear gal, I have nominated you for the super sweet blogger award! It comes with pretty little colorful cupcakes! Here is the link to my post and congrats with a hug!

    http://salmonfishingqueen.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/thank-you-to-marcella-rousseau/

  9. Jess says:

    OMG Pumpkin French Toast?!? I would never have thought to make that but it looks amazing!!! this is a must make in the near future! Would you mind linking this up to my blog party? I think this would be a HUGE hit with everyone!! http://www.battlingthehomefront.com/2012/10/in-kitchen-thursdays-week-4.html
    I also love turkey bacon! I actually like it better than actual bacon…I’m strange like that though.
    Hope to see you at my blog party!
    Have a wonderful day 🙂

  10. Pingback: Chef Randall Nominated You for the 2012 Blog of the Year Award | Savor the Food

Leave a Reply

