Sweet Potato Pies – Faux Pumpkin Pie

My parents are intense sweet potato growers.  They grow sweet potatoes the size of head lettuce!  They are also very generous, and gave me some of their produce.

So what am I doing with some of my sweet potatoes?  I made sweet potato pies, of course!  Thankfully, these faux pumpkin pies are not pie faux pas!

If you haven’t tried a sweet potato pie, you’d be in for a treat with these!  Contrary to what some might think, sweet potato pies taste exactly like pumpkin pies.  This was one of my efforts to make great foods by using what I have, rather than buying extra foods.

Sweet Potato Pies

Makes 2 8-inch pies

This recipe is based on My Mom’s Pumpkin Pie, posted by my sister Tammy.

Ingredients:

Two 8-inch pie dishes, lined with unbaked pastry (I used the foolproof pie crust recipe)

Filling:

3 eggs
2 3/4 cups sweet potato puree (instructions below)
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 cup heavy whipping cream*
1 1/4 cups milk

Directions:

(I make my pie crust first so I can refrigerate it while I make the filling.)

 

The foolproof pie crust recipe makes a lot more than you will need for this sweet potato pie recipe!  Any extra you have can be frozen so it’s handy for the next time you need pie crust!

1. To make sweet potato puree:

Peel and dice sweet potatoes.  Cook, covered in water, until tender.  Drain, and puree with the blender, a potato masher, or a hand mixer.  Measure 2 and 3/4 cups.

Cooked

Pureed

2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

3. Combine all filling ingredients in a large bowl and mix with a hand mixer at a low speed until combined. (If you choose to use the hand mixer to puree your sweet potatoes, you can use it again here and save on dirty dishes.)

4. Pour filling evenly into two unbaked pie crusts.

I tried my best to make the crust pretty like my mom does.

5. Bake on the middle oven rack for 15 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for about 40 minutes longer, until filling is thickened, tops are lightly browned, and/or a knife inserted in the center comes out clean (or mostly clean). If you’re making a bigger pie, or an especially deep pie, you will need to increase the baking time. Cool finished pies on a wire rack.

Unfortunately, the edges of my pie crust did fall.  At least that didn’t affect they awesome taste!

This pie can be served with your choice of whipped cream/topping, or just plain!  I love it either way.  Tammy gives further instructions for making whipped cream for pumpkin pie.

*Canned evaporated milk can be substituted for the milk and cream.  I just had two 5-ounce cans of evaporated milk, so today I poured those into a measuring glass and filled the rest (total 2 1/2 cups) with milk.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sweet Potato Pies – Faux Pumpkin Pie

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    They looks really good! I am a mom too and my pies still don’t look this good. Your mom has a delicious recipe and you did a great job!

  2. bethevenson says:

    I will have to try this recipe!

  3. Wow.. looks yum.. I wanna make this before Fall comes to a close 🙂

  4. Oh yum yum yum! I love sweet potato and making a sweet potato pie is on my “to-do” list since forever! Have to give this a go! Thanks

  5. veryhungrypiglet says:

    Looks great. Not really something made in the uk but I plan to try!

  6. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    This looks awesome Bonnie! I love sweet potatoes and it is a great change from pumpkin (as much as I love my pumpkin) 🙂

    • recipeshappen says:

      I chose the sweet potatoes since they were free from my mom, but both pumpkin and sweet potatoes make fantastic pies!
      I was partially inspired to make these because of your recent pie post… 😉

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        Awwww! Thank you Bonnie! I love your homemade crust though, mine was store bought as you know 😦 Next time it is homemade using your recipe 😉

      • recipeshappen says:

        Ok!
        It made a lot of crust (this is the recipe my mom uses) so I now have several “balls” of crust in the freezer for future pies or quiches!! 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        That’s a really great idea, it has so many uses 🙂

  7. Pingback: Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: (Homemade) Frozen Pie Crust | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

