Saturday Upsides: Eating at Home

It’s “Saturday Upsides” time again!  Don’t forget to check out this page for Saturday upsides from previous weeks.  Please join me this weekend to share a positive story from your life!

**

Homemade Tacos > Restaurant Tacos

My husband and I try not to spend much money eating out.  It takes a lot of willpower, because in general I love restaurant food! (And who doesn’t love Starbucks every now and then?)

My solution to the restaurant-craving?  Make copy-cat foods at home!  From pizza to burgers to pasta, sometimes it just takes a little experimenting to have an excellent meal for only a few dollars verses twenty or thirty.

Today we had Tacos, and they were fantastic.  I realized several positive things.

1. It cost under $4 for both of us to be completely satisfied. (This could even be much cheaper if we had chicken taco instead of beef!)

2. It was more healthful.

3. It was easy and we didn’t spend the time/money driving to a restaurant.

So while sometimes I feel like grabbing fast food on my way home, I’m happy that there can be some fantastic upsides to eating at home!

Now it’s your turn!

**
You can also be involved in Saturday Upsides!  Just post your “Saturday Upside” on your blog with my “Saturday Upsides” picture and a link back here, comment on my blog with a link to your post, and I’ll add a link to your blog at the bottom of mine.

Everyone’s posts will be different; please use this “Saturday Upsides” post to share your own unique thoughts, picture/s, and bright sides!  I’d love to see posts all weekend, not just Saturday.
**

1. Preservings – Saturday Upsides: Helping those in need & Learning a new skill

2. Freezer Burned Susan – Saturday Upsides: Finding the Positives

3. Food 4 Thought NYC – Saturday Upsides: The Family that Eats Together

4. Hungry Quebbie – Saturday Upsides: Weekend Errands

5. CSA Mom – Saturday Upsides: Dirty Dishes

6. Healthy Glow Nutrition – Saturday Upsides

7. You could be here!!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Saturday Upsides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saturday Upsides: Eating at Home

  1. Hi Bonnie! I love your upside today. My hubby and I said the same thing last night as I made our favorite curry chicken stir fry. We like to eat out sometimes but we can never find better food than from our own kitchen.

  2. Your tacos look SO good. A friend of mine and I went to a Mexican place night and I had taquitos for the first time in forever. The food was delicious but even better was the price. My taquitos were only $4! That’s impossible to find in NYC, so I was very happy. But that never tops making your own food at home. You can make as much as you want and you dont have to pay tip afterwards, lol.
    Here’s mine! All about the joys of family. 🙂 http://food4thoughtnyc.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/saturday-upsides-the-family-that-eats-together/
    Happy Saturday!

    • recipeshappen says:

      I do love a good Mexican restaurant… but true! There’s no tip involved with eating at home! 🙂
      Thanks for participating again! I love your posts!

  3. csamom says:

    I think my Upside today ties in well with eating at home. 🙂

    http://csa-mom.com/2012/10/13/saturday-upsides-dirty-dishes/

  4. Pingback: Saturday Upsides – Dirty dishes | csamom

  5. Pingback: Saturday Upsides (delayed) « Healthy Glow Nutrition

  6. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Hello Bonnie!
    Here is my delayed Upside. I have not been well for the past few days. I hope all is well with you 🙂 By the way, I LOVE eating at home as well!
    http://healthyglownutrition.wordpress.com/2012/10/14/saturday-upsides-delayed/

Leave a Reply

