Chicken a la King

A comment on my recent post about chicken gravy and biscuits encouraged me to make and share my mom’s recipe for chicken a la king!  My older sister Tammy has posted it in the past, and this recipe is basically the same as hers.

She shows how do make it using leftover chicken, as my mom usually does, and I made it with chicken breast.

I also served mine over brown rice.

Chicken a la King

1 large chicken breast, chopped and seasoned with several shakes of paprika and granulated garlic

1/4 cup butter

1/2 green pepper, chopped (1/4-1/2 cup)

1 cup chicken broth (or water mixed with chicken bouillon)

1 cup milk

1/3 cup flour

1 – 1 1/2 cups sliced fresh or frozen mushrooms, or 1 4-ounce can, drained

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 cup (uncooked measurement) brown or white rice

Directions:

1. Cook rice according to package directions.

2. In a large skillet, brown chicken breast in butter. (I also added about 1/2 cup of water to help this process.)  When chicken is mostly cooked, add the green pepper and mushrooms and cook, covered, until tender.

3. Add chicken broth to chicken.  Shake milk and flour together until there are no lumps.  With broth mixture on low, gradually pour and stir in the milk with flour.  Stir constantly until mixture thickens, then add the Worcestershire sauce.

4. Turn off heat and serve over rice.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chicken a la King

  1. Holy cow, I haven’t thought about this dish in ages! Thanks for posting. 🙂

  2. Skuggs says:

    I LOVE Chicken Al La King and haven’t had it in years. I make mine with white wine and peas, but this version looks way easier and super yummy.

  3. Pingback: Three-Day Menu | Recipes Happen

  4. Pingback: Menu Update + Another Menu | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

